Motivation logo

5 Steps to Keep Sane

Keeping sane while stuck at home.

By Rebecca McNallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Throughout the last year, we have all been going little nuts locked up inside and away from others. For me personally, it has been extremely difficult juggling school, work, and three children. Finding time to relax when stuck at home is not so easy. However, I have a few tips that have helped me cope with the reality of being at home with three children.

Step 1: Clean- I find that I relax more when my house is in some semblance of order. Yes, with children I know the house is never clean, but removing the extra clutter goes a long way to help with my sanity. I always can find relaxation as I am cleaning, which makes me think that no matter the mess a little hard work will always clean it right up.

Step 2: Reorganize- I find that when I am stressed or tense that changing the layout of my living room or bedroom helps in relieving some of that tension. It's kind of like having your very own Zen garden without having one. If you don't like the flow of things, change it. Change can be a good thing in certain situations.

Step 3: Bake- Sometimes a good old-fashioned baking session is in order. Baking goodies that you can send to others is a good way to feel like you are helping others. Helping others soothes the soul and makes others feel appreciated. I remember when I just gave a bunch of things away for the victims of the Malden fire, I had so many clothes, shoes, furniture to give away that I didn’t need. Knowing that I was able to help others made me feel needed and important.

Step 4: Hobby- Finding a new hobby can help with boredom and routine day to day life during this pandemic. I took up crochet and it's fun to make something that can be used by others and myself. Having something to occupy your time besides watching tv and eating ice cream, can go a long way to making you feel better. Another hobby I have taken up is writing, I already have a novel published but it’s not very well done. I am now trying to publish it through an actual publisher. We will see how that adventure pans out. It has gone a long way to keep my mind occupied.

Step 5: Enjoy your time- Out of all these steps this is the most important. Your children grow fast, and we may be cured to be away from others right now, but this is a blessing because we get the time to spend with them now. Spending quality time with children is hard during the daily grind of work, cook, clean repeat. So, my advice is to enjoy this time while you can. Children are not the only ones you should enjoy; significant others can often feel taken for granted. I know I tend to forget how much mine does on a daily.

Following these steps have allowed me to keep in mind that this pandemic is not forever and my children although they drive me nuts will not be small forever. I want to be able to enjoy my time with my little ones, not be yelling all the time. I want to better my life and that of my children’s, if I can find simple ways to keep my cool when I want to blow up then I will take advantage of those simple steps. If you are like me and trying not to go crazy follow these steps to help keep your sanity.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca McNall

Single mother of three, Cement Mason Apprentice, and student. Aspiring author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.