Humans logo

Treasured

Part of a Novel

By Rebecca McNallPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
Like

Deep in the forest, nestled at the bottom of a cliff next to Rock Lake; is a log cabin. Three stories high, five-bedroom, three bathrooms with a huge rustic red barn outside. Walking into the cabin there is a grand staircase with railing engraved with elk and trees. To the left are a kitchen with a six-burner stove and double oven, with a center island. Straight ahead is the living room, a four-foot-wide fireplace demands the attention in the room. Dark cherry wood frames it and on the mantle, the name “EMTMAN” is carved into it. This is now the place I call home, after my great-grandpa passed away, he left it to my dad Tom.

Now my dad being six-foot-seven inches and about two-hundred ninety-eight pounds is a big dude. I, however, am only five foot three inches and I weigh about one-hundred twenty pounds. The only thing that makes any of this bearable is my horse Jasper. He is a beautiful red roan quarter horse, with the biggest brown eyes. My only solace comes from spending time with my horse. I have always been an outcast at schools, but I am hoping this town will be different.

The City of Cheney is home to Eastern Washington University, and everyone knows everyone. So, without a doubt, I am going to be the talk of the school, a new girl who just happens to be part of a huge town family. I am looking forward to equestrian team practice, that is about the only bright side to switching schools mid-year. Just happens that my old school was in Seattle. Most of the school population were city slickers. Not knowing how to bait a hook or drive a truck. Deciding what to wear tomorrow will be easy because all I own are jeans and t-shirts. Only one more thing to do before bed. I run downstairs to find my dad setting up the television over the fireplace.

“Hey, do you need anything else?” grabbing his attention.

“No” he replied. Clearly annoyed that I distracted him from his task at hand.

As usual, every time we move, I did most of the unpacking and he just lazes around or suddenly has an errand to run. I take this opportunity to run upstairs and lock myself in my room. My room has an en-suite bathroom with a claw-foot bathtub, and a huge floor to ceiling window that looks directly on the barn where Jasper is munching on his hay. I lay on my king size bed with a log frame and pink camo bedding and slip into a restless sleep.

The fog was everywhere, I could not see anything; and then the fog lifted over a stump. There was a crown of antlers with a deep blue gem in the center. It looks so majestic, so peaceful and powerful. It vanished, and in its place stood a hound. A terrifying hound, the mouth had two lower jaws, blood dripping from its teeth, and then it lunged.

Chapter One

It was foggy as I drove my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee to school and the roads were covered in black ice. I took it slow, not wanting to roll my vehicle and carve a path of destruction through main street Cheney. As I pulled into the parking lot, I noticed that the school mascot was Eagles. Well, better get to the office and get my schedule. Walking up to the main office I was greeted by a genuinely nice lady with short spiky red hair. Her nameplate read “Mrs. Missile”

“Hello, I am here to get my class schedule, my name is Rebecca Emtman,” I announced.

“Oh, I have everything right here for you. If you have any questions don’t be afraid to ask” she gave me an encouraging smile and sent me on my way. As I walked away, I thought of how her voice reminded me of my mommas. My momma died when I was a baby from breast cancer. I miss her very much; though dad says I need to lose weight all the time, I like to think I look like her. With my auburn hair, violet eyes, and elf-like face; it is almost like she was from another world. I have a picture of her hidden away from my father, I look at it when I need a comforting reminder that not both of my parents were miserable.

I am so glad that there is only a couple of months left of school until graduation. I walk into my first class of the day, Agricultural Science with Professor Skoog. I did not want to bring more attention to myself than necessary, so I sat in the back of the class. While I waited for class to begin, I watched the other students file into the room and take their seats, the last person to enter was gorgeous. Tall, very muscular with long brown hair on top and almost a buzz on the sides. The softest baby blue eyes caught mine from the door. His facial features literally looked like Legolas from Lord of the Rings. Oh man, I am going to have a hard time concentrating on this class with him in here.

Professor Skoog walked in as everyone settled into their seats, and this handsome god of a man sat right next to me. The air between us suddenly became electric, and I gasped taken by surprise what was wrong with me? Out of the corner of my eye, I saw him smirk, my insides quivered. What the hell? Thank god that the professor started talking to distract me from this god-like man. He started on the ruminant digestive system, crap stuff I already knew. I pretended to take incredibly detailed notes, making a conscious effort to focus when I heard a chuckle next to me. Immediately I blushed bright red, I am not ready for another relationship just yet, my last one was terrible.

My ex was in the military and moved me halfway across the country to Texas. He would not let me go grocery shopping by myself, drive, he sold my truck among other things, and wouldn’t let me talk to my family about anything important. Like finances or relationship issues, let me tell you I looked like a complete zombie. I was pale in the face and my eyes were sunken in because I could never sleep. Until finally I came home to “visit for the holidays” and I never returned. To this day I am glad I did that, but I have issues I need to work out myself before I get into another relationship.

“Hey,” a honey-rich voice said pulling me from my thoughts, funny how his voice seemed familiar to a point. He had a slight Irish accent, maybe that is why it sounds familiar because Dad has that accent too.

“Hi, can I help you?” I said trying not to stare at his perfectly chiseled abs that I could plainly see through his under-armor shirt.

“Probably but not in the way you think,” he said with a wink. I could feel my mouth drop open and his eyes smoldered making my thoughts jumble. Oh my god, what is happening to me? He smirks again and leans closer; I can smell him, and I close my eyes so he can’t see how he is affecting me. Breathe Becca breathe. He does not seem like the guy to just throw himself around like that. But I do not have the best track record in judging men.

“Oh really? What exactly did you have in mind?” I asked, curious if my intuition was right or if he was a player.

“Actually, I could use your help on this assignment.” Not what I was expecting from him, maybe he is an alright guy.

“Really? That is it? Why? I don’t even know your name.” I scoffed at him.

“The name is Tim and I am really no good at this stuff and I thought you could use a friend.” What? Is he serious? I wonder if he has alternative motives. Well, there is only one way to find out.

“Sure, I think I might enjoy that.” Why did I just agree to hang out with him; is it because he makes me so hot and bothered? I have never felt this strong of an instant connection with anyone. “I’ll need your number to get in touch with you.” He smiles as he hands me a business card. He walks out of the classroom with a smirk on his face. The rest of the day passes by in a blur. I got to the grocery store; I fell into the familiar routine of shopping and was lost in my own thought bubble. I could feel someone watching me, as I looked around, I saw no one. That is weird better hurry up and get home dad will be wanting dinner ready. When I get home, I feed and brush Jasper in a hurry, bring in the groceries, and start the oven. I put the chicken in a glass pan with a little bit of water and some seasoning, I set the timer for thirty minutes. Dad comes in the house just as I am getting dinner on the table,

“Look at that you can be taught. I think this is the first-time dinner hasn’t been late in months” I refrain from rolling my eyes in front of him because the last time I did that I got smacked across the face by him. My dad can be a real jerk sometimes, maybe I should give this Tim guy a call. I take out his card from my bag.

Tim E Sapphire

[email protected]

Of course, no phone number, I shake my head. I walk over to my laptop and open it up, I bring up my web browser and sign in to my email. I compose a letter to send to him,

Tim, I was wanting your phone number as that is the way I prefer to communicate. Given the circumstances, however, I need to get out of my house for a while. Does a study session tomorrow evening sound like a plan? I will be waiting for your email. Thanks, Becca.

I decide to take a bath while I wait for his reply, I soak for what seems like about thirty minutes. I get out, wrap my hair in a towel, and throw on an old t-shirt. I walk back over to my computer and I see that I have a reply from him, I am suddenly filled with anticipation and excitement.

Becca, you will get my phone number in time. I would love to have a study session with you. Although I am curious as to why you need to get out of your house.

I am filled with excitement that he agreed to hang out with me, but I don’t know if I should tell him about Dad yet. Okay, we need a time and place for our study date.

I was thinking of Eagles Pub at about six in the evening. Does that work for you?

I hope he does not take too long to reply. Within a few minutes of sending the email my computer pings at me.

Sounds like a date then. You avoided my question, but I trust you will tell me in your own time.

Uh oh, I hope he does not have the wrong idea. I cannot be committed again; not yet anyway. I think that I could really get along with him; I am so scared the same things are going to happen again. I shake off the thought before I could go down memory lane. At least he is not trying to pry for the information on what is going on. I crawl into bed after one last peek out the window at Jasper. I wake up feeling lots of anticipation for my study date, I decide that I am going to try to look presentable. I put on my favorite jeans, a dark blue V-neck, and my hair up in a ponytail. As good as it is going to get; I run outfeed and brush Jasper and take off for school. I get to class a few minutes early to see Tim sitting in the same spot he was yesterday. I had not noticed I was holding my breath until I let out all the air in my lungs as soon as I saw him. He looks like a perfect statue carved just for me, I walk over and set my belongings down, and take my seat next to him. “Good morning,” I say trying to keep my voice steady.

“Good morning to you as well. I trust you slept well?” He asks, who talks like that anymore? I can feel myself blush because I was dreaming about him all night.

“I did sleep well thank you.” The air starts to charge again, he smirks at me.

“After we are done studying this evening will you let me buy you a drink?” Wow, I have never had anyone buy me a drink, where is this guy from?

“I wouldn’t mind a couple of drinks,” I say still amazed that he is even talking to me. Skoog walked into the room just then starting class.

“I want each of you to find a partner to work with on this project, this will be your final in the class so be sure to choose wisely” Skoog announces. I turn to Tim and see him looking expectantly at me, I also notice that every single girl looked back at Tim as well. Tim clearly asks so all the girls within earshot can hear,

“Becca would you do me the honor of being my partner.” He smirks at me making my heart skip a beat.

“I would be glad to. Thank you.” All the girls glare at me then turn to talk about what just happened with everyone else. “What was that all about?” I ask.

“Oh, I do notice that a lot of the girls looked my way, but I only have eyes for you. I did that so all the guys would stop staring at you.” Tim says as he gestures to the room; I look around and find that nearly half the guys are glaring at Tim!

“I don’t know what any of you see honestly. I am not that pretty, I am not very talented….” I look at him with sadness in my eyes, trying to hold back the tears I look away to read the assignment on the board. It says: BUILD A MODEL OF A FARM WITH THREE SOURCES OF NUTRIENTS, TWO ANIMALS, AND ADD A SOURCE OF WATER. This should be easy enough. Now that I have myself under control, I turn to him and see that his face is patient.

“I will pick up the supplies we need for this and we can work on it tonight.” I wink at him, trying to put on a brave face even though I am afraid he will find me boring. The rest of my classes seem to drag on forever, but finally, when I am released from class I rush to the dollar store. I grab a poster foam board, art supplies, and some animal figurines. I also pick up some blue ribbon for the water, oh this is going to be so much fun. I end up at Eagles a little earlier than I expected so I decide to order a hamburger, while I am waiting for my food to arrive, I start on the project. I place the house at the center, the creek on the right side of the board, and just as I am placing the barn my food arrives.

“So, I see you decided to start without me.” Tim’s honey-rich voice accuses. I should not know his voice this well yet, but some force of nature is pulling me to him. It is almost like he is a giant magnet that attracts all women.

“Well, I got here earlier than expected, so I figured I might as well use my time wisely. Although I am going to eat this burger before I starve.” I take a bite out of the burger, grease dripping down my chin, I savor the flavor. I dab the grease away with a napkin.

“You truly are something. Now, where do you want this barn again?” Tim asks. I point to where I want it, he places and glues it down. “What next? You know why don’t you point out where everything should go and I will glue it down.” I give him a thumbs-up as I chew another mouth full. Within the hour we have a model ready to turn in, after I finished my meal Tim still wanted me to decide where everything went.

“There, if this doesn’t get us past this class then no one will pass.” I laugh.

“We make a good team. Now I believe I owe you a drink.” Tim walks up to the bar and comes back with two drinks in his hand. I recognize them both one is an Irish Death and the other is a Sweet-Tart. He returns to the table, “Now, I want to ask you a few questions.” Uh-oh, this may not be so good.

“I will try to answer them but if I say no please don’t make me answer,” I beg him, he nods in agreement.

“Let’s see here, what is your favorite color?” Easy, maybe this will not be too bad.

“Dark Royal Blue, it makes my eyes really pop,” I answer, he asks a few more easy questions while I sip on my drink. The harder questions came when I was about halfway done with my drink.

“Why did you say you weren’t pretty?” He asks his face inviting and patient.

“That’s not so easy, I had a rough childhood, and let’s leave it at that.” I cross my arms over my chest to emphasize not to ask that one again.

“Okay, why did you move here?” That is a little easier to explain.

“When my last relationship turned south, I looked for an escape but the only problem being the escape I had was also not that good either. I got with my ex to get away from home because it was bad, but in the end, my ex was worse. So basically, I chose the lesser of two evils.” I look at the time, shit it is almost eight. “Look, I have had a blast, but I really have to go.” I start running to my jeep, I fire it up and haul ass toward home. Dad is going to kill me; I wonder why he has not called yet. Probably because he is so pissed. This is not going to be good. With blood rushing behind my ears, I open the front door and I find him waiting for me in the living room.

“Where the fuck have you been?” He shouts at me, his hands balling into fists. Shit. My blood turns to ice, frozen in terror not wanting to piss him off further.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca McNall

Single mother of three, Cement Mason Apprentice, and student. Aspiring author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.