Motivation logo

Leaving Hell

None of them seemed to notice that she was walking in the rain and a cloud was protecting her from getting wet.

By Annelise Lords Published 11 days ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

Walking is therapy for Mary. So, she indulges daily despite experiencing pain in her left heel, thanks to a growth spurt.

“It looks as if it’s going to rain,” Lance her husband said, staring up into the sky.

“You know I go insane if I don’t walk to communicate with nature,” she said putting her sneakers on, while on the patio staring up at the cloudy sky.

“Sure you want to risk it?” Lance tries to discourage her.

“Aw,” she said reading the clouds. “It’s only water.” Kissing her husband goodbye, she hurried out.

Minutes later the sound of thunder warns that rain is coming. She quickly sought shelter, joining a female and two males in front of a wholesale as the rain poured from the sky angrily. They were on their phones minding their own business. Minutes later, a male and female join them.

“You learned nothing from the mistakes you made because I prevent you from learning from the consequences!” the female said.

“You should have let me learn,” he said with furled brows. “We wouldn’t have the problems we have now.”

“You are blaming me for the mess your life is in?” she snapped. “It’s because you didn’t learn why I had to do what I did!” Pain spewed from her heart. “I paid for your mistakes and since I was the only one learning, I had to find a way to save myself and ended up saving you too. And you still learned nothing!”

“I must live my life the way I know it,” he notified.

“Self-destruction is the only way you know how to live?” she asked, staring at him enraged.

He bit his lower lip, and she went on, “I had to use positivity to clean up all of your negative and destructive actions, choices, and decisions and we both won!”

“What do we do now?” he asked his eyes on her.

“Not we,” she said turning away from him and staring at the rain as it beat on the asphalt in splashes. “You learned nothing. All the good decisions I made; and you still learned nothing. I am letting you go to learn from life.”

My eyes quickly jumped to the male, as anger turned his face red, “you will regret leaving me,” he threatened.

“No,” she said calmly, her focus still on the rain pounding the asphalt. “I will have no regrets because I am aware of what I am leaving!”

Lightning flashed, thunder roared, and the power of the rain increased. She walked out into the rain, his eyes on her. As she walked, Mary noticed that no rain fell on her body. Glancing up into the sky, it had a weird hue. It was grayish-blue with a hint of orange, black, and white clouds. Mary saw an odd, shaped orange cloud that was directly under her body and moved with her as she walked.

Swallowing her surprise, and with popped eyes she glanced at the people beside her, still on their phone. The young man that threatened her, fumed in anger that prevented him from seeing what she saw. None of them seemed to notice that she was walking in the rain and a cloud was protecting her from getting wet!

Mary stared until she was out of sight, blinking several times hoping that the image would change, while glancing at the people around her. As the rain stopped, Mary turned back and went home fear caressing her heart. What just transpired scared the crap out of her.

Whoever she was, what she said made sense. Mary’s thoughts held onto her words.

Leaving hell, you leave with no regrets because you know what you left and why you left. That is power!

If your heart could speak, what would it say?

Knowledge of your world, life, and the people in it, is power. use that power wisely! Annelise Lords

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it.

successhow tohealinggoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.