Motivation logo

Welcome To The Thank Your Enemy Show

Did you ever get a chance to thank your enemies? Or did they thank you?

By Annelise Lords Published 13 days ago 5 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

Josephine Willis and Paula Ingram were excited when they received a special invitation to be a guest on the Thank Your Enemies Show with Winsome Orrell. That means one of their enemies is thanking them for something they did. They would also receive $5000 in cash.

“I need a vacation,” Paula said kissing her invitation, then securing it back into the red envelope it came in.

“I need to pay off my credit card bill,” Josephine said staring at the invitation with a big smile. Then turn to Paul and asked, “Who do you think it is that we destroyed?”

“Who cares!” Paula said. “We are on the show and getting paid. I can’t wait to get that money in my hand.”

Josephine nods and then reads her invitation again, wondering who will it be.

Three days later, on the show, Winsome asked, as they sat to her left. An empty seat was to her right.

“Who do you think is here?”

Paula and Josephine, comfortably attired in different color-wrapped dresses and low-heeled black pumps, nod, gesticulating with their hands.

“You are that bad?” Winsome asked as the audience started in awe.

“We haven’t killed anyone,” Paula said as Jennifer Lawson slowly walked on stage, still beautiful in her fifties.

“Damn!” They both said.

Winsome dived in quickly turning to Jennifer, “What did they do to you?”

Jennifer smiled, sitting beside Winsome and someone handed her a microphone.

She sighed deeply and stepped back into the past, “Five years ago, I loaned her my down payment for my first house. She lied that my goddaughter was ill and needed surgery and the insurance refused to pay the full cost. She promises to pay me back with the life insurance money from her father’s death.”

“Did she?” Winsome asked.

“No.”

“Why not?” Winsome asks turning to Paula and Josephine.

“It’s not fair,” Paul complained.

“What is not fair?” Winsome asked.

“Look at her,” Josephine suggested. “She had the right complexion, beautiful long hair, and an incredible body.”

“But so do both of you, “Winsome said.

“We had to buy ours,” Paula notified, looking down on herself.

“She didn’t have to buy hers?”

“Her body isn’t Maybeline, she was born with,’ Paula recites Maybeline Cosmetics slogan.

The audience laughed.

“Then he,” she points up. “Had the nerve to turn around and gave her good brains too. She is smart,” Paula said.

“You mean God, right?” Winsome asked

“Who else?” Paula said swaying her upper body.

“Wow!” the audience said as Jennifer spoke, “We were friends from high school into college. I didn’t know they envied me until she refused to pay me back my money.”

“You lost your dream house?” Winsome asked.

“Yes, someone else got it,” Jennifer informs.

“So, what do you want to thank us for?” Paula demands.

“You saved my life,” Jennifer informs them.

“What, the house burned down?” Paula demands.

Shock sent their upper body back and Josephine asked, “How?”

“Three months ago, there was an earthquake,” Jennifer said.

“But it didn’t damage the house,” Josephine stated.

“But you would have insurance,” Paula throws back.

“No, and yes. But it shook it and the screws that held the three nines in place loosened and the nines curved into three sixes,” Jennifer explained.

“Then what happened?” Winsome asked.

“It turned the address in 1666, instead of 1999 and mob hit men went inside and killed all four members of the family while they slept. They went to the wrong house. 1666 Maiden Lane was housing a family of four in the witness protection program!”

Shocked held everyone, including Winsome.

“What!” Paula screamed as Josephine covered her mouth in shock pointing at Josephine, “She killed those people!”

“You told me not to pay her back yet! Because she didn’t deserve that house!” fell from Josephine’s heart.

“You still killed those people!” Paula casts blame.

“And that’s how you saved my life and my children!” Jennifer informs them.

They turned to stare at her, as the audience watched while reality ripped into hearts, minds, and souls,

“I shouldn’t have listened to you,” Josephine said.

“You saved my life!” Jennifer shouts.

“Didn’t I lend you the money to pay her back? Paula shouts.

“Yes, but you still encouraged me not to pay her back in time,” Josephine reminds her.

“Well, I didn’t kill anyone, you did,” Paula blamed Josephine.

“YOU SAVED MY LIFE!” Jennifer screamed slapping both friends across the face. “I AM ALIVE THANKS’ TO BOTH OF YOU!”

Silence speaks briefly as both ladies massage their right jaw while the audience watches in shock.

In tears Josephine wails, “I am sorry. I didn’t mean it.”

“What!” Jennifer cried out.

“I think she means for not paying you back in time,” Winsome notified.

“But their envious decision to stop me from buying my dream home is what saved my life!” Jennifer reminds.

“Damn!” They said in unison as the audience gasped.

Silence sends invisible messages as all three females search for understanding.

Then Paula exclaimed, “Fate is the culprit then, not us!”

“So I should thank Fate, not you?” Jennifer asked. “Then you don’t get the five grand.”

“Hey, we helped Fate,” Paula took back her words.

Is Paula, right? Their envious decision handed fate a card that saved Jennifer’s life. Did you ever get a chance to thank your enemies? Or did they get a chance to thank you?

If your heart could speak, what would it say?

I think they should have a Thank Your Enemy Day. I would also like to thank all of my enemies too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uPtmePu6mA&t=60s

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

how tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.