Motivation logo

5 Easy Exercise Ideas for Writers

And I Don’t Mean “Writing Exercises” Either!

By Evan HundhausenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
GoshDarnBlog.com 2022.

If you purchase through our partner links, we get paid for the referral at no additional cost to you!

For a long time I had a huge aversion to any sort of exercise. I’ve always had more important things to do like sit in front of my computer and write all day!

Then I happened upon an article about a man who won a screenplay contest and as a side effect he got a blood clot from sitting in his chair too long . . . writing.

At the time it just sounded ridiculous to me.

Not too long ago I went to the doctor and got a bad report. I realize now what I’ve been doing to my body and I’ve opened my mind to find ways to get exercise into my daily routine.

Here’s five easy exercise ideas I’ve discovered.

1. Walking

Walking is my favorite form of exercise because it doesn’t matter what I’m wearing.

It’s so simple. You just walk out your front door and onto the sidewalk.

You will find walking not only makes your belly thin (because you’re moving your legs), but it also has calming and meditative effects.

By observing things on your walk your brain will be stimulated. This is how most famous writers got their ideas. On walks.

I’ve taken walking one step further by leaving the car at home sometimes and walking into town to wherever I’m going. This won’t help you much if you buy too many bags of groceries, but you will make do.

You could substitute walking a bunch of miles by getting on a bus at a certain point to make the trip easier if you like.

The one cool thing I find with walking is how many people I talk to. You will see lots of other people around you on your walks and you’ll be able to take the time to talk to them instead of running to your car like you normally would.

2. Biking

There are many different types of bikes out there. Some of them don’t even look like bikes, but a regular old bike is not a big investment and it’s great for making you healthy!

Be sure to invest in a lock and a helmet. Safety first!

Bicycling is a popular hobby and a mode of transportation for many people so you should have no problem traversing across town since bike lanes are popular in most places.

If you prefer you can buy a stationary bike for your house. Then it will be much easier to jump out of your chair and start pedaling! You can watch TV while you do it too.

3. Dance Class

“What are you talking about? I don’t dance!” you say. I’m not talking tango or salsa, although those are fun too.

I like free-form, ecstatic dance classes.

Dancing is an aerobic activity and you get to listen to cool music and DJs!

You’ll find there are many dance studios around that have hour long classes with many forms of dance for you to break a sweat by getting down!

4. Give Me Ten!

Push-ups, sit-ups and jumping jacks are three exercises everyone knows how to do and you can do them all on your rug without leaving the house.

I would say, as a beginner, only do ten push-ups or sit-ups at a time. I try to do thirty to fifty jumping jacks at a time. Try to do as many repetitions as you possibly can without hurting yourself because you’ll want to break a sweat when you do these exercises.

Athletes will tell you they don’t count how many reps they do. Instead they just do as many as they can until their abdomen or arms are sore!

No pain, no gain, people!

5. Yoga

Yoga is an exercise for the whole body. It’s been practiced since the dawn of civilization and the benefits are too numerous to list.

I would say every time I’ve attended a yoga class I’ve broken a sweat in seconds.

My favorite position is the downward dog. It strengthens my shoulders, chest, arms, legs and most importantly the abdomen. I can feel the burn in just sixty seconds. It’s amazing!

Ask around and find a beginners class where the instructor will take it easy on you. Also look into relaxation yoga classes for some de-stressing.

Conclusion

Most importantly, what you want to do is to always break a sweat. This is because there are toxins in your body that need to be released.

“Couldn’t I just sit in a sauna?” you’re wondering. Sure, and that’s not a bad idea either, but what you want to think about is how you can get your heart rate up and the blood flowing!.

It doesn’t really matter what kind of exercise you do as long as you do it.

They say sixty minutes is ideal, but often I do thirty minutes and I’ve felt and seen significant changes in my body just from doing it every day.

Hopefully with these five tips you will discover an exercise that you won’t mind doing every single day.

Once you find the right exercise to do you will start to feel and look better than ever and of course it will help you have more energy for your writing, too!

Copyright GoshDarnBlog.com and Medium.com/goshdarnblog 2022.

Follow:

pinterest.com/goshdarnblog

facebook.com/goshdarnblog

youtube.com/@goshdarnblog

advicegoalshow toself helphealing
Like

About the Creator

Evan Hundhausen

Ya see, I'm a writer, DJ and I write a goshdarnblog.com. My Dj mixes are at https://dirtyfilthydiscotrash.com.

I have books for sale on Amazon.

My Linktr.ee:

https://linktr.ee/goshdarnblog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.