Motivation logo

13 Reasons Why

A letter of gratitude

By Holly Allison-KayPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear student,

How do I begin to tell you how thankful I am that you came into my life many years ago? I am grateful for you and my gratitude has helped me connect to something larger than myself, to other people, to nature and to a higher power.

You have taught me the importance of perseverance: you kept going while your world crumbled around you, never giving up.

You have taught me the importance of forgiveness: you confided your most personal and traumatic experiences of sexual abuse, from a figure you admired and trusted. By forgiving you were able to transform your anger and hurt into healing and peace.

You have taught me the importance of strength: fight for what is right, charge and stand up to the bastard that tried to destroy you. You advocate for yourself enabling you to be able to take a course of action that makes sense.

You have taught me the importance of love: you continue to love, your children, your brothers, me. You gave yourself the gift of loving who you want when you want, with this comes the beauty of loving ourselves which then affects all others around us and letting us be our true selves.

You have taught me the importance of letting go: walking away from toxic people, the non-believers, the ones that want you to fail, setting yourself free.

You have taught me the importance of crying: to shed a tear, to release, to cleanse and promote well-being. Releasing endorphins helping to ease physical and emotional pain.

You have taught me the importance of being a good, no… a great, Mom: you have built trust with your own four babes, guiding and nurturing them with kindness and love.

You have taught me the importance of devotion: to your husband, to your valued relationships, to your spiritual being.

You have taught me the importance of starting something and always to finish: your school days were not fun for you, you spent most days curled up in a ball or punching lockers with anger, and then years later you pursued your GED, applied to college and completed your nail course.

You have taught me the importance to focus on my talent: the ability to explore dreams and set goals, nail art is your thing, you have mastered it.

You have taught me the importance of honesty: no matter what, no matter how hard, honesty is an important component to life. Being honest empowers us to prove consistency reassuring others that they can believe in your promises.

You have taught me the importance of writing: to put into words, to document, to create. The rush of emotions with words flowing on paper creating positive vibes that help with creative connections and release.

You have taught me the importance of believing in myself: taking control of my thoughts and actions, to create the life I desire and deserve. You were able to cut through all of what pulled at you and were able to find emotional and physical balance.

Your life journey has inspired me. I watched you start as a cocoon and emerge as a beautiful butterfly full of cascading colour and beauty. Your world was full of darkness but you injected ligut as you were able. You are an educator, a Mother, a wife, and most importantly a survivor! Your ability to take control of your life has made me appreciate you and admire you. Your strength and resilience shineS through each and every day. Because of you I have grown, learned and blossomed in life shaping me into who I am today and I am forever grateful. Thank you for being YOU!

Respectfully and sincerely,

Your Teacher

healing
Like

About the Creator

Holly Allison-Kay

Proud mom of triplets, married to my knight in shining armour, loving life and literature!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.