Longevity logo

You Should Go For a Run

A guide for quarantined-inspired running

By Shoshannah Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
You Should Go For a Run
Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

If you are one of those who can no longer work or go anywhere during this pandemic, there are very few things we can still do. In most states/cities, citizens are still allowed to go for walks, walk the dog, hike on local trails, and, of course, run!

Running is a great way to expend your energy during this time when you can't really expend any energy the same way you would back when everything was "normal." I've definitely seen a lot of people and neighbors pick up running recently, and it's made me so happy!

I have been running since I was about 5...and I mean like my parents actually entered me into little races when I was five. And while I've played other sports and had plenty of other hobbies like rock climbing and backpacking, I've always been a runner. It's always been there for me, even if I don't run every day or even every month sometimes.

What I can tell you from essentially growing up as a runner is that it has helped me cope and go through some of the toughest times in my life. Also as a kid, I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder. Basically, my body and mind are just in a constant state of anxiety/restlessness, even when I'm completely happy with life. There's definitely a lot more to this disorder, and I urge anyone who is interested to look into this.

You're probably thinking that, of course, running out all your energy from anxiety makes it easier and bla bla bla. Yes, that's true...BUT now is the time where so many others are feeling anxiety and stress due to unemployment, financial stresses, and all around instability.

And I feel that. And I'm here to share with you the grand wisdom of how running will help with literally everything you are feeling. Take it from someone who feels this type of stress on a daily basis, I feel you!

Why Run? The Chemical Reasons

Stress affects the brain in a very chemical and hormonal way, which in turn affects the rest of your body. This easily explains why, when you are stressed or unsure about the future, you might not have any motivation to get up and do anything because your body feels sluggish or unwell.

Well, in turn, when your body feels better, it affects your brain and mind.

Exercise produces endorphins, which is a group of hormones and neurotransmitters that include dopamine, serotonin, and a lot more neurotransmitters that help fight stress and pain.

Think of your anxiety/stress in terms of a headache. Inducing the production of endorphins is the equivalent to taking medication for a migraine.

Endorphins activate the body's opiate receptors, helping to reduce pain and boost pleasure. Don't worry, you aren't going to get high off exercise! Endorphins simply help to create a feeling of well-being and relieve the physical pain/sluggishness your brain creates throughout the body when stressed. Endorphins help aid with restlessness and insomnia as well, as these are symptoms of anxiety and stress.

Increased levels of these endorphins will leave your body and mind feeling a bit more at ease, as well as accomplished!

By David Marcu on Unsplash

Why Run? The Emotional Reasons

So, we've gone over the hormonal/neurotransmitter affects running has on the body. But still...why run? Why not just exercise by doing a home workout or something?

Running is hard. But after you run and set a goal for yourself, that's all the more reason to feel a heightened sense of self-esteem and accomplishment! Plus, you've just increased your endorphin levels which heighten this sense of self-esteem and overall great feeling!

Plus...we're all stuck in our homes right now! Why exercise in them?! Get outside, get some fresh air, and challenge yourself a bit! I'm not saying you need to be the best, or run the farthest, just go for a jog through the neighborhood or nearby trails.

I mentioned earlier that these endorphins aid in the fight against restlessness and insomnia as symptoms of anxiety. When you sleep better, you feel better! It's as simple as that. You wake up rested and retaining that feeling of general well-being. Leaving you motivated to tackle that next run!

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Shoshannah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.