Longevity logo

Why you need to follow social distancing

if not for yourself, do it for the people you love.

By Hannah York Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Social distancing these last few months have sucked. I hate not being able to see my best friend, my family, or even clients at work. I hate talking to people through doors or FaceTime. I hate wearing a mask everywhere, and I hate not being able to go to the grocery store every time I remember something small that I need. But guess what? I do it.

My dad had open heart surgery last year, and is therefore on a blood thinner. He is also a diabetic. If he contracts COVID-19, he will likely end up in the hospital, and he could possibly die. My grandma is a cancer survivor. If she contracts this virus, she will end up in the hospital, and she could die. Some of my good friends are immuno-compromised. If they catch this virus, they could end up in the hospital, and they could die. Now, I don't know about you, but I wouldn't be able to live with myself if I had any part in people close to me getting sick and dying simply because I didn't feel like wearing a mask when I went on my actually needed grocery trip.

I've seen so many posts of people complaining about social distancing, saying that the government can't force them to wear masks or stay home. Why are we fighting this? Why is that more important than the lives of the people you care about? This virus is real and it is killing people. A very close friend of mine was posting updates about the battle her friend's son was battling with Corona Virus, and I was following it, learning about how real this virus is and how dangerous it can be. Well guess what? He died. His parents have to plan a funeral for their son, something a parent should never have to do. That same night, my friend drove by a bar in her town. That bar was full of people sitting down, enjoying a drink with their friends. I wonder how worth it that drink would be if it turns out to be the last drink they can enjoy with their friends.

Health care workers are risking their lives every day to help the people you love survive this virus while you are attending a protest about how you don't want to wear a mask. Essential personnel are living in hotels to avoid going home to their elderly family members while you are having a party in your apartment.

Other people are just arguing that this virus is weeding out those who are too ignorant to keep themselves safe. The problem with that statement is that their ignorance is putting me, my mom, my boyfriend, and everyone that we care about at risk. We go to work because we have to, and now on top of the regular stress of many jobs, we have to worry about if the people we come in contact with have been safe, because if they haven't been, now our families are at risk. And if you pass the virus on to us and we don't realize it, chances are we won't know for two weeks. So then, regardless of the social distancing we are practicing, we are passing the virus on to those of you who aren't, and the circle is continuing.

I don't think some people realize how much this virus has completely uprooted the lives of people. Yes, we are all affected, but it's no exaggeration when I say some people were affected way harder than others. My sister was studying abroad in Ireland. It was her dream, all she could talk about when she started college. Well, 3 months in she got sent home because of this virus. She got sent home without a job to go to, and without a school that was open. She said goodbye to her friends she had made, and goodbye to so many once in a lifetime opportunities she had. She was literally about to get on a plane to travel somewhere else on her bucket list when she found out she needed to switch her flight to America so she could actually get out of Ireland before she was stuck there. The people who were a part of the Disney College Program, taking the semester off of school for an amazing opportunity, were sent home. They were sent home, again, with no jobs to return to, and many people no living situation, as their schools were closed just like my sisters. That's an entire semester of school that in their eyes is now wasted, because they weren't able to complete their experience, but also weren't able to enroll in classes that late into the semester. College seniors who have worked for years to enjoy their last semester and their college graduation had that taken from them, as well.

So yes, it sucks you have to wear a mask and stay home as much as possible. I get it. I'm a busy-body and hate being stuck in one place. The masks are annoying and fog up my glasses when I wear them. But I do. I wear my mask, and I stay home on my days off of work, because no one's life is worth my comfort. So many people gave up way more than I did to stay safe and help flatten the curve of this virus, and too many people have already died from it.

Please wear a mask. Please stay home. Please distance yourself from people. Please stop being selfish and only focusing on your comfort during this difficult time for the entire world. Suck it up and put the mask on, or stay home.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hannah York

On 06/14/2016, my cousin committed suicide, and there were a lot of unanswered questions. After that, I decided that I didn't want to leave anything unanswered, so this page is a place for me to write anything and everything on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.