Longevity logo

Why It Is Essential to Have Happiness in Your Life

No matter how bad your day is, always try to look for the positive things in life.

By daniellePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

One thing I have realized over the last couple years is that I let my happiness slip away. I can't tell you exactly how or when I lost it because it went away piece by piece, without even having any conscious awareness that it had happened. I faded into the darkness of my own mind and it was scary in there. I have suffered from depression for about 9 years now, trying to scratch and claw my way out of the dark hole that was dug for me. So anyways, back to happiness; how do you define happiness? Happiness isn't something you can measure; it's something you feel. Materialistic things aren't going to give you happiness, they will give you temporary excitement and contentment, but not happiness.

Happiness is found within you, within me, within each and every single person in this world. You just need to reach in and grab it. I know it sounds cliché but with a lot of hard work and gratification for having love in your life, you can have it. Love is an essential part of this universe, its place is well known, even in science. Love is what drives us, it's what keeps us breathing, without love the world would be an ugly place. You need to love as much as you can, you need to love yourself. I want you to take a good hard look at yourself. Think about who you are now and how you have changed over the years. Look back at your childhood or teenage life, remember what it's like to feel free, to feel good, or to feel proud. I found something I wrote in grade 6 while I was sitting in class looking out the window. I would like to share it with you because I feel it is a good example of the kind of senses we lost when we became adults.

"I'm sitting here, looking out the window, watching. Watching the beautiful trees swaying in the breeze and wishing that I was out there letting the wind blow my hair dry. And just sit there, on the soft grass for hours doing nothing except breathing in fresh air and let the wind attempt to sift through every strand of hair on my head. And to just forget about school for one second and realize how great life really is."

It's hard for us as a society to be happy when there is so much going on around us. There is war and poverty, a lack of love between people, greed, health issues, and financial problems; we're in an economic downfall. This economy is built on greed, letting the poor fall and the rich rise. Those who are rich live a better and more secure way of life, but is that really living? The purpose of life isn't money, it's love, and that is what a wealthy family tends to forget. Being wealthy isn't everything it's cracked up to be; plus who needs five bathrooms in one house anyways. That being said, money is a necessity and we all need it, at least if you want to live comfortably. I don't want money for the materialistic value, I want to have the life experiences that money can bring. I want to be able to travel and see different parts of the world, to explore where no one's been before but that is only possible if you have money accessible to you. Everything comes with a price so they say, and I believe that's true. Karma is something I also believe in, there is good karma and there is bad karma. When you do good things, you rack up a point system so to speak of good and bad karma. And then life mixes it all up like a set of dice in your hand and rolls it back to you at random points of your life.

See, you are not perfect, neither am I, no one is perfect and neither is the world we live in. We will always have ups and downs, it really is true what they say, "Life is like a roller coaster you just have to go along for the ride." Life is something you should experience with no limitations, as limiting yourself only holds you back from your true potential. There is someone great and unique hiding deep inside of everyone, you just need to dig a little deeper than the surface. It takes some time to learn your true potential so don't put yourself down if you can't do it the first 50 times. Just keep trying and keep pushing till you knock those walls down and find out what it is that you really long to do. If everyone did what they really wanted to do and not what makes us the most money, we would all be at peace with ourselves and the world around us. Which in turn, would make the world a better place. All it takes is a smile to brighten someone's day. Do me a favor, the next time you go out, smile at a stranger; it will instantly make you feel better. It is actually scientifically proven that smiling, even when you're sad, will boost your mood and your nervous system. Start being happy, start smiling, and start living the life you've always wanted.

mental healthwellnessself care
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.