Longevity logo

Why I Don’t Have An Alarm Clock

RING RING!

By Eric BurdonPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Credit: pixabay.com
BEEP BEEP BEEP!

For those of you who aren’t aware of that sound, that was supposed to be an alarm clock. For many people this device could be a device from hell, a pain in the ass, or perhaps some other colourful description. At the same time though people find alarm clocks quite helpful in some situations.

It’s really a mixed bag for a lot of people.

But for myself, I’m not like the many people who swear by alarm clocks or swear at them. I simply don’t have one. Call me crazy, but I find that the alarm clock simply isn’t helpful, especially when you are growing yourself. I find them useless for a few reasons.

First, I have an internal alarm clock.

When it comes to me and sleeping it doesn’t take me long for my body to adapt to a new sleeping pattern. In fact it only takes a few days of going to sleep and waking up at specific hours.

My body has been like this for years now and though I can’t really explain it, that’s how it has been. Mind you there were times where I did use an alarm clock and it was helpful in those cases, I know I would’ve gotten up around those times it went off. In fact, there were times where I beat the alarm clock.

It’s a major source of stress.

Stress to the point that you’ll get angry or frustrated with the alarm clock. I find that it’s very jarring or that it’s a reminder of the next day. For a lot of people they are in the lifestyle of working and coming back home to sleep. Having something in the morning that immediately reminds you of that can be depressing.

It’s a reminder that you need to get up to go to work at a place you feel utterly disengaged with. But it pays the bills and you need to pay the bills.

Even for myself when I didn’t have many bills to pay, that alarm clock was something that reminded me that my day would be very similar. There wasn’t anything in particular that I was looking forward to.

It Creates A Terrible Habit

I think you know the one – I’ll give you a hint, it’s something to do with the snooze button.

The thing is people really enjoy hitting the snooze button, trying to get those five extra minutes of sleeping. I know for a lot of people they think it actually works, but really it doesn’t.

When we wake up, we feel groggy and for the first 5-10 minutes of our waking day we’re trying to wake up. Hitting the snooze button and going back to sleep actually doesn’t help you at all.

In the end you waste time “sleeping” and you create a bad habit of hitting that button.

In the end…

I find alarm clocks aren’t all that helpful for those particular reasons. For myself I routinely wake up at roughly the same time due to my job. I am happy with what it is that I am doing and my work provides enough variety that I’m excited for it.

I believe an alarm clock isn’t really needed for the day-to-day grind in those cases. When you truly enjoy your job and understand yourself and your needs, you can have a happier life. An alarm clock would be more suitable in cases where you need to be up earlier than you would normally.

What do you think of alarm clocks?

To your growth!

Eric S Burdon

advice
Like

About the Creator

Eric Burdon

I used to say a lot, now I do a lot. Sharing advice, stories, aspirations, and thoughts along the way. Want to be a better person? Read some of my stories to help you grow and shine brightly!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.