Lifehack logo

A Home Fit For A Millenial

A dream home that you wouldn't expect.

By Eric BurdonPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1
A Home Fit For A Millenial
Photo by Florian Schmidinger on Unsplash

Note: While this is a tad too late for the challenge, I still wished to share my idea of my dream home.

To any non-Millenials out there, there are many words that people describe us by:

Lazy.

Narcissitic.

Selfish.

Delusional.

Disloyal.

These kinds of characteristics can be heavily influenced into the purchase of a home, let alone our view of our own dream home.

You'd think my ideal home would be an opulent palace of sorts. Three floors tall, open concept with floor to cieling glass walls with each floor having a large area outside of those glass boxes filled with all kinds of things.

The top floor is a hangout spot. A great place to have light entertainment, a bar, and a way to look out into the city.

The second floor would house a large swimming pool that's massive and deep. It would be possible for someone to treat the third floor as a diving board of sorts and still feel safe and secure. The bottom of that pool would be made of strong thick glass, able to withstand all of that water. The water from the pool reflecting on the floor below which would honestly be where the driveway would be.

The house would be located in a place that wouldn't experience winter at all and be surrounded by other opulent palaces of their own.

A perfect dream home for a Millennial.

Right?

Wrong.

Despite my wild imagination, my dream home isn't a way to show off who I strive to be. While it still has a level of class and sophistication to it, it doesn't need to be something incredibly big.

After all, I'm of the mind that even the most simplistic of things in life can be so fascinating, intriguing, and stunning. This ideology is something that influences my own perception of what is a nice house to live in.

First of all, my dream home wouldn't have to be precisely a house.

Digging into the details, the first thing to cover is the overall dimensions of the place. And while I don't have the precise dimensions of it, it's not exactly a massive space that this house is taking up.

If you need a ballpark range, think of the place being roughly the size of a four-bedroom apartment. These days that's about 950 square feet.

All of that would be divided into specific rooms. These rooms would be a kitchen, a living room, an owner's bedroom, two bathrooms and three extra average-sized rooms.

The Kitchen

Having lived in a decent-sized home for most of my life and living in apartments have reinforced my love for open-concept kitchens. Cooking is one of my favourite things to do and I find great joy in being able to move around the kitchen.

This is really hard to do when your apartment is a tight and enclosed space.

While one can argue that everything being in close proximity to one another will boost cooking efficiency, I still prefer being able to weave in and out and move around the kitchen.

Cooking is an art and not to be too snooty I think that prepping is also an art. I see cooking as a spectacle and thus being able to move around - and have the space to do so - is nice.

With that in mind, this ideology fits into my ideal kitchen for my dream home.

In the center is an island. The counter-top is an oak top, sanded and varnished and is held up by sturdy oak pillars. The boards of the island are made of strong glass and provide support for the pillars as well since the ends will be wedged into the corner pillars.

The look of the island would follow the same concept as the rest of the kitchen. The countertops would be made of wood with the drawers being made of glass. Though the knobs of the drawers would be made of wood along with any of the support. This removes a lot of the guesswork of where certain items are located. Beyond that, the borders of the drawers will also have a line of wood as well to provide further indication of whether the shelf or cupboard is open or closed.

All of the appliances will have a modern look. A no-element stovetop, stainless steel fridge, dual sink and a dishwasher. Your standard kitchen.

Though there are some extra additions. For one, there'll be two stoves and ovens. There'll also be a third oven, though this one would be a traditional stone oven.

All of this would be taking up one side of the kitchen that's connected to the common area. With only a pillar supporting it in the center, there would be seats placed on the other side to allow people to sit down and watch the food being made for them. They could eat it there as there would be a spot there to eat, or at the island while standing up.

The Common Area/Living Room

So far I've only talked about some of the core themes of the house: oak and glass. What about the colour though?

While it makes sense to go in with a white colour concept, I find that it would leave marks and it would be a pain to clean up all the time. Instead, I'm opting for blue to be the main colour of my dream home.

You will start to see that more in the common area as the furniture, particularly the chairs will be blue.

Here the themes and the colours all meld together in a balancing act. The floors are all a light hardwood to resemble the oak finish of the countertops. The multiple chairs, two love seats and two sofas will all be blue. The few tables and end tables will have a glass top and wooden legs.

There'll also be a few carpets scattered about that'll also be blue.

The overall theme with the common area/living room is a place to gather a family or a large group of people. As someone who values connections and building relationships, this is an area where technology isn't overrunning the place.

There'll be a TV there, but not a massive one. There'll be a few gaming consoles and video games too. However, it'll be overshadowed by the plethora of board games housed on glass shelves

Naturally, the tables will be tall enough for one to sit down in one of the seats and not have to worry so much about the height.

Owner's Bedroom

Some call it the master bedroom, I'll stick with the owner's bedroom. In it, you'll still see the concepts clashing together, but not being too overwhelming.

Hardwood floors, of course, and blue walls, though one side of the room will have floor to ceiling glass. Through the glass, you could see the ocean. Furthermore, the glass is made in a particular way so it wouldn't cause a lot of glare waking up while still providing great visibility through it for those on the inside.

There'll be one other window on the outside. It'll be large, but not floor to ceiling large.

In terms of the inside, you'd have a large closet taking up an eighth of the room, a king-sized bed and some wooden dressers.

Bathrooms

Like most other rooms, the bathrooms don't have anything remarkable. One of them is devoted to housing the washer and dryer for laundry. Beyond that, you'd have a standard toilet and sink. The top of the sink counter would follow a similar pattern in it being made of oak with the bottom of it being glass.

The other bathroom is a full bathroom. It's a similar design to the previously described bathroom, though there is the inclusion of a tub and shower. The showerhead and nozzles are going to be metal.

Extra Room One - Office

As someone who works from home and likes to keep environments separate, an entire room devoted to my office is important. This particular office would still serve a dual purpose. While I do write as my main focus, I also wish to make Youtube videos more frequently. I want to turn that from a hobby into a full-fledged business as well someday.

With this in mind, my office wouldn't be a typical office but rather work as a sound-room to some extent. One section devoted to recording while the other to writing.

Since I'll be recording videos, the floor in the room would be made of carpet - blue of course. The walls will also be a lighter shade of blue than the carpet. In terms of space, it'll be large enough to house a small desk, some floodlights, a few chairs, recording equipment, a bookcase filled with various books, some display cases and other shelving to house my collection of frogs and some easy to maintain plants.

Considering it's my space, I want this space to be more personal and a place that I can concentrate and grow myself. It's a place where I can let my thoughts wander as well. So even though my furniture and things won't be taking up a lot of space, I still want the space to be a moderate size for me to get up and walk around in. An opportunity for myself to pace around and think out loud as well.

Extra Room Two - Guest

The guest room serves as a dual purpose. It's a place for those who want to have a more secluded conversation but also a place to crash.

This room takes up a similar design to the set-up that one of my family friends' has. A simple futon that can be turned into a bed along with a few odds and ends.

Since my family friend is into music, his actual guest room has a piano in it with a few other music things scattered about. For me, while music is significant to me, I'm also a huge thinker. I'd rather fill that place with some flora and some books.

Extra Room Three - Exercise Room

Outside of my work, my health is another big part of my life. As such, it's smarter to devote a specific location to exercise.

As you'd expect with any kind of personal gym, there'll be a few machines. For me, that would be a treadmill and a seated row machine. Beyond that, I'd have an assortment of weights for hinge work, deadlifts, and other dumbbell exercises and two benches. One bench designed for bench presses and the other being an adjustable one.

The walls of the gym will be made of floor to ceiling glass with a few oak walls dividing them. This will allow me to check my form while working out.

Simple, But Enough

Even though my dream home would still be rather costly with all of the glass, the overall look and feel of the house is minimalistic. It is just enough for me to do the things that I normally do in my life.

It is fit for a millennial. Someone who is...

Self-expressive.

Confident.

And open-minded.

house
1

About the Creator

Eric Burdon

I used to say a lot, now I do a lot. Sharing advice, stories, aspirations, and thoughts along the way. Want to be a better person? Read some of my stories to help you grow and shine brightly!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.