Lifehack logo

Be Mindful Of Your Energy

To stay more productive, manage the energy in your life.

By Eric BurdonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Be Mindful Of Your Energy
Photo by Riccardo Annandale on Unsplash

Spend enough time in the self-improvement world and you'll hear all kinds of different things. But on the more spiritual leaning folks in this world, there is talk about energy.

Now, I'm not the most spiritual person around, however, I think the discussion of energy is important to our own development in several ways. So much so that I'm putting together an article to talk about this aspect.

The reason energy is so important to our lives is that it has influence over our own emotions. The key to success can be boiled down to our own attitude.

And our attitude can determine how much energy we have and are putting towards our goals and objectives.

For the longest time, I have put little effort into building my brand on social media. I focused on the quick way to solve things that only put me back even further. There were periods where I've stated my marketing skills were poor and part of that might be due to my average grades in school. Nevertheless, there was no passion.

There was no energy at all.

And I'm in a position that's fitting for it.

But lately, I've been putting more effort into it. I'm putting more energy into hopping on Twitter and sharing my thoughts. I've been getting a little more engagement every day from my efforts.

Sure they're not turning into clicks on my articles at the moment, but the idea is to merely put energy into the tasks that are set out before you.

How I'm feeling isn't so different from people who work a 9-5 job they dislike versus those who love their job. The amount of energy, attitude, and overall performance shifts between those two.

So What Can You Do To Make More Energy?

The biggest thing is to look at yourself and consider where is it do you want to be going in life? Even during these tougher times, people can still do what they want to.

It's tougher sure, but not impossible.

I've echoed this idea before where we ought to spend time with ourselves more and get back in touch with ourselves. This can take on many forms whether it's answering that question mentioned above or taking time to self-reflect and understand yourself and who you are becoming.

When you have an idea of what you want to do, go and pursue that. Have the mindset that you'll get to those results and will work at obtaining it however way.

Learn to enjoy the process and to go where the path takes you.

I find that our energy is influenced heavily by how everything makes us feel. When we are driven by goals that are outlined, we're more compelled to complete them should they be something we're passionate to achieve.

That said, there are some other areas to consider where you can make more energy.

One aspect I'm very familiar with is your nutrition.

Even though I'm not in great physical shape, my energy level is still very high. The reason for that is thanks to my lifestyle.

I drink almost exclusively water with the exception of tea or wine on very rare cases.

My diet is focused on fish/protein, fresh veggies, fruits, and whole breads.

And I only dine out/order take out for one meal over the course of a week (sometimes even two).

My diet isn't anything special, but I attribute energy to that as it can push me towards working and expending some of that energy through various forms.

How To Make The Most Of Your Energy

The last thing I'll cover is how to make the most of your energy from day to day. It's crucial because as much as it's important for us to work and find a passion, sometimes focusing entirely on work doesn't help us.

In life when we focus on one thing for too long, other areas in our lives begin to derail. You could even begin to lose yourself in the process.

I know this because for several months before moving out of my parent's house, I focused on nothing but work. My social interactions diminished significantly, my health declined, and I felt drained after some time.

Yes, I definitely spent my energy, but I focused so much on one thing that I wouldn't call it efficient use of my energy.

I've come to understand that we need systems in place. Systems that give us energy while also spending some of it as well. We need to find some balance between the two where we can jump between activities that expend and return energy.

The idea is that we're not meant to drain our energy entirely. We only need to spend enough to stop us from being over-charged. Being drained should only be a temporary feeling. Like going through a hard work-out session.

That is the good kind of spent.

Be Mindful Of Your Energy

Everyone has a choice of where they want to put their energy towards and I think it's important we focus on the good kind of energy. The energy that lifts people and encourages people as well as ourselves into doing what we wish to do.

When you have good balance of energy in your life, you can achieve great things.

health
Like

About the Creator

Eric Burdon

I used to say a lot, now I do a lot. Sharing advice, stories, aspirations, and thoughts along the way. Want to be a better person? Read some of my stories to help you grow and shine brightly!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.