Longevity logo

Why Ditching Your Old Spring Mattress is the Best Choice for Your Body

By Alexa SilvaggioPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

Supported ByLull

Top Story - February 2020
9

Our bodies deserve to be treated with respect.

As a yoga and dance teacher, I see the importance of taking care of our bodies every day. Whether it’s low impact, high impact, dance cardio, boxing, yoga, goat yoga, rock climbing, goat rock climbing (just kidding, I’m sure the line has been drawn at goat rock climbing, but you get the gist), there’s a movement class for every body. So, why is it so hard for us to take care of our bodies when it matters most? We spend ⅓ of our lives sleeping, so let’s take a minute and really think about our sleep quality and how seriously we’re taking it.

How serious are you about sleeping?

We spend one-third of our lives in bed. I’ll say that again for the people in the cheap seats: We spend 33.33% of our human experience lying down. Hopefully. Frankly, our rest is non-negotiable. It’s imperative. That may sound like a lot of down time, but that is what our bodies need to function optimally, especially if you are a disco-dancing fitness queen like me. Sleep is where we synthesize our hormones, it’s where we restore our fatigued muscles, and it’s where our tissues get the opportunity to heal. No sleep is no bueno for your bod, but more importantly than the quantity is the quality of your sleep.

Look, if you’re taking a college course and don’t have the right books, you’re not gonna get the information you need. If you are in a yoga class and don’t have a block to support you in half moon, you’ll fall out of the pose pretty quick. And if you’re sleeping on an outdated mattress without memory foam to support your spine, your body isn’t going to be able to support you well on the daily.

For most of my life, my body has been my sure thing. But a few years ago, I started struggling with back issues, sciatica in particular. It’s brutal. I wouldn’t wish it upon my worst enemy. The thing that needed to change the most wasn’t my diet, or my movement, but how I rested. Spring mattresses were really the only option growing up, so I continued to use those metal-filled beds into adulthood.

Excuse me, can we take a moment to acknowledge that I (and maybe you) thought it was a good idea to sleep on metal? Legitimately laughing out loud. Needless to say, it was time to switch things up to see if there would be any difference in the quality of my sleep, and the health of my spine. I started to do some research on foolproof ways to ease my pain and found the best mattress for back pain, The Lull Mattress.

Conclusion? Memory foam is lit.

After making the switch to memory foam, I noticed significant shifts in my physical body, the way my back felt after a tough workout, and the way my neck felt while I slept. My energy levels also felt more stable throughout the day. I didn’t get that 2pm “I need a nap” moment.

Not to mention how feeling better physically had a positive impact on my mood. My body was less achy and I felt more supported. I was able to start sleeping on my back, which is way better for sciatica and for my skin. I woke up less throughout the night, which made my early wake up calls much more manageable.

I teach many different kinds of yoga, but one of my favorites is restorative. Why? Because I truly believe we live in a culture that is starved for rest. I know the importance of allowing the body to heal through, yes, restorative yoga, but primarily a solid night of rest. My memory foam Lull mattress has drastically improved the quality of not only my sleep, but also my human experience.

That may sound dramatic, but think about it. The feeling that my Lull memory foam mattress evokes within me is one of rest, renewal, self care, and of ease. That feeling of ease is even better because of the delivery process—Lull’s mattresses are not only affordable, but they ship out in shockingly small boxes and are super simple to set up. That means that you don’t have to go through any pain or headache before finding your relief.

So how does your mattress make you feel physically, mentally, and emotionally? Because if it doesn’t make you feel like a million bucks, I invite you to get acquainted with Lull. It really is a dream.

body
9

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.