Longevity logo

Why Abelism Is Not Called For

Keep it to yourself when it comes to medication takers.

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

Ableism sucks. Do not throw your abelist nonsense around. I can multi-task at home. I can multi-task elsewhere. But I cannot work full-time until I sleep the whole night properly. Really, if my family expects me to jump into full-time work, well, that is dangerous. No, thank you. I have to start part-time and work my way up. I applied at a nutritional supplement store within walking distance from home at a mall. So yes, I need to work part-time. There is an insurance gig coming for me that I have to pay up $200 for, so if you read my work on this website, please donate. The insurance gig can be very part-time.

Abelism means that somebody mentions what you cannot do in the context of, oh you have a disability, therefore you suck. You can’t bend your knee, not yet anyway, oh sorry, I can’t get into my shoe. Abelism is a form of bullying and disrespect toward disabled people. You can’t use your body’s insulin, oh you suck. Other disabilities have it worse. People won’t hire you. People will tell somebody with lupus they don’t look sick. Lupus is pretty severe. It usually implies that one part of your healthy immune system goes unhealthy and on the paranoid attack.

You never know what will happen next. Don’t tell somebody with HIV not to worry about every opportunistic infection that can kill them. Colds, flu, skin problems, you name it, a person with HIV lacks an immune system, period. Fibromyalgia means that person is in a lot of pain. MS, same thing. MS people can live for years though, with the pain of the illness. Mentally ill folks need their meds and it is unconscionable to assume that they can push through without their medication at times.

Telling a person dependent on meds to stop taking their medication is totally wrong. Not only it is it wrong, it is illegal. This person could flat out die or do something really wild that is risky. Your political leaning while mentioning this is not the issue but rather the fact that you talked a vulnerable person out of taking their medication. We bipolar spectrum folks need our medication. Your stigma is not appreciated while forcing somebody to quit taking meds because it makes you feel better or the fact that you feel guilty about not being on medication yourself if you need it.

Quit shaming people on medication. This is ridiculous, in particular, if they already have a shame complex. Shame complexes are tough to work with and deal with in therapy, which some people do not bother to work on while in therapy. Do not contribute to this. It is not necessary to shame people into not taking their medication. That is evil. Don’t tell depressed and anxious people that “positive thinking” will make it all go away. A depressed person can’t be positive to save their life anyway. I toughed out my high school years without medication to ease my mental illness symptoms.

Do not throw your ableism around. Disabled people don’t need that. If somebody has a limb injury, they need to use a walker. If a person is in a wheelchair, don’t ask about how they got there. I want to study medicine at some point in my life, but I do not want to overdo it. I need reasonable accommodations for sleeping 8 hours or more every night. I simply cannot stay up the whole night, vampire-like. I used to be a night person for the years 2008-2009. I was looking for night jobs. I was also trying to find the right medication to treat my schizoaffective. Eventually, I found it. And the rest is history because I’m stable. So you see, don’t throw your abelism around.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.