Longevity logo

Where Is My Excitement Hiding? Instead, I Can't Stop Crying

I've noticed that I have started looking forward to my nights out again.

By ClarePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Where Is My Excitement Hiding? Instead, I Can't Stop Crying
Photo by Chase Clark on Unsplash

Originally Posted on Medium

Before the pandemic, I went out a lot. Working in the city it was perfectly normal to go to the pub at lunch or after work, when the weekends came, I preferred being at home as I'd been out all week.

Going out was such an everyday thing, it wasn't really fun anymore and when a big birthday event came along, I didn't look forward to It. Now, I tend to do my going out at the weekends like a normal person and I have started to look forward to those nights out again, I can think about what I'm going to wear and spend some time getting ready.

On Saturday, I woke up at 7 am, excited for a morning to chill out. I sat down and looked at my calendar. 9 am - Intervals. Oh, bugger. I'm doing cardio today. My brain starts to make excuses but I ignore them. It's happening. I'm doing it. No excuses.

And I did.

Did I enjoy it? Absolutely not. I couldn't find my sports bras, so just wore a crop top. After trying some of the jumpy moves I decided to do the low-impact options to save myself from black eyes.

After 25 minutes, mostly of me swearing at the screen, I was a sweaty mess. I had done it, but I didn't miraculously fall in love with cardio as I had hoped. I still hate cardio, and cardio still hates me.

After a cold shower, I sat down to write. I had left one thing from yesterday and it wouldn't take me long.

I type it all up on Evernote on my IPad then remember something I wanted to check so I go on the internet, when I come back to Evernote moments later, there are only one paragraph shows.

Huh?

The undo button isn't working, there is no history of what I've just written FFS. I scramble around trying to recover my work, but it's gone. It was only a few hundred words, but still, I'm annoyed. There is something bizarre going on with the electricals in my house, and it's getting on my nerves.

I eventually get what I need to do done and I enjoy spending time getting ready for a night out.

We have a great night out in The Boatyard for a friend's birthday, we're up dancing and singing with the brilliant young singers. On Sunday morning, I wake up, knowing we have to do it all again. We're off to our friend's house for part 2 of their birthday celebrations.

It's such a brilliant day and night, they have asked the singers from the night before to perform (Sam Fraser - check him out!) it's such an amazing day with lovely people and I stop at one point and say to the husband that we are very lucky to have such a fantastic friendship group.

Monday, I do not feel particularly grateful, more groggy. I know I have a lot to do, not only for the writing but also for the holiday, and I just can't seem to kickstart the day. Eventually, I force myself into the shower in a desperate attempt to liven myself up. It works, kind of.

I settle down to carry on with my true crime post and realise too late that it's a lot more involved than I first thought, I decided to write a separate post about podcasts in the meantime, I don't want to rush the post.

Tuesday, I feel more awake but somehow less motivated, I think I am overwhelmed at the amount of stuff I have to do still before going on holiday. The husband finally gets the suitcases out of the loft and I find that mine is full of summer clothes I forgot about. Oops.

My motivation makes brief attempts to come back but I can't seem to keep a hold of it, I've got too many things to be thinking of. On Wednesday, I manage to have a short lie-in. I know that my sleep pattern is going to be up in the air when I am on holiday, so I need to make the most of it while I can.

I force myself to the shops to return parcels full of holiday clothes that I don't need, my mind just feels like a constant spinning wheel of thoughts and to-do items and I can't seem to stop it, it eventually leads to a bout of tears which is needed.

I get myself to bed after Love Island, no matter how much I do in the week leading up to the holiday, there are always those last-minute bits that can't be done, well until the last minute.

Thursday does not bring a lie in, it brings buckets of anxiety. I decided that today I absolutely must spend ten minutes in silence and allow my thoughts to come and go before I do anything else.

It was just ten minutes spent thinking of all the things I still had to do, so when I finished, I wrote it all down, despite having it on an app on my phone, I just needed it out of my head. It worked, it gave me a bit of space.

The husband's family are having dinner Thursday evening and I know I just won't be able to go, I have so much to do and rushing around will make me miss something and we have an early start the following day so I tell him I don't think I can get all the stuff I need to do in time. Luckily, he is fine with this and understands.

I'm also extremely hormonal. Auntie gives no f*cks about holidays and wants to join me, so I cry repeatedly about minor things, such as a badger being rescued on TV, knocking an entire bottle of nail polish remover over and recreating my very own scene from home alone.

I keep reminding myself that by the time everyone is reading this, my to-do list will be completed, and I will officially be on holiday. Hopefully, I won't be crying on the plane. ♥️

humor
Like

About the Creator

Clare

Personal growth, Self-Care, Motivation, Mindset.

I write about my life lessons to inspire.

You can reach me at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.