Longevity logo

Top Anti-inflammatory Teas to Help You Get Through the Day

What works for me might just work for you!

By CharlenePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo By: Skitterphoto on Pexels.com

I have SLE Lupus, an auto-immune disease which attacks your main organs and causes rashes and erosion of the joints. On some days I have trouble walking or bending, and on others I have trouble moving my arms and hands making it difficult to shower, and get dressed and undressed. That is my every day struggle. Those are the lemons that life gave me. And now there's nothing left to do but make the best lemonade on the planet.

Having an auto-immune disease is no fun when you have no choice but to be dependent on certain medications, home remedies, and people. I am forever grateful for my loved ones and especially my fiancé, she has helped me tremendously and continues to help me. Everyday may be a struggle but everyday I still get up and get it done.

These top anti-inflammatory teas are what helps me on more days than not. I swear by these teas that they help with my inflammation and or just help calm my flare ups. These are the top anti-inflammatory teas that have a high potential to help you get through a day full of pain.

Turmeric tea

Turmeric is known as one of the best anti-inflammatories. It is a flowering plant of the ginger family. It contains a compound called curcumin in which it is derived from the root and although it is known to be used for inflammation it is still currently being tested to determine whether it can actually be used as a pain relief for patients.

Turmeric isn't the best tasting tea; its taste is very strong. You can add lemon, ginger, or even honey to make it tastier. Also, watering it down over night can help tone it down a bit.

Turmeric can also help with headaches, viral infections, acne, etc.

Chamomile tea

Chamomile is a plant of the Asteraceae family. Chamomile is known for its traditional use to treat many health issues and for its anti-inflammatory properties. Although, it isn't scientifically proven that Chamomile does treat major health issues, it is still recommended. And not to mention, it is very tasty.

Chamomile can also help reduce menstrual pain, treat irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), increase sleep quality, help strengthen the digestive system, etc.

Green tea

Green tea originated in China and it is made from Camellia sinensis leaves and buds. Green tea has polyphenolic compounds that are known to be anti-inflammatory. Studies reveal that green tea could certainly disrupt and stunt the process that causes inflammation in the joints.

|Green tea can also improve brain function, help with bad breath, and help burn fat, etc.

Tea is great for your health. Drinking tea 2–3 times a day is a way to get the best health results you're searching for. Being consistent is always important in recovery. Maintaining a healthy lifestyle is important for overall good health. I don't allow Lupus to take over me one bit. Granted, I have bad days but I push through. Tea has always been my go-to and I always found comfort in a nice cup of tea. I'm no doctor or scientist (that obvious huh) but I can definitely say drinking 2 or more cups of these top teas has toned down my inflammation.

Do your research. Find out what works best for you. Your health is very important, so be sure to pay attention to your body and listen to it intently, sometimes it whispers what it needs because it doesn't have enough strength to scream. Pay attention and be its strength. Everything will get better just have patience, better days are inevitable. I am always here to listen!

Original story written on Medium.com

product review
Like

About the Creator

Charlene

she/her Creative Writer, Poetry, Blogs, Short Stories, Articles. Thoughts become letters, letters become words, & it all forms sentences that turn to magic!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.