Longevity logo

The Two Treatments that Saved My Hair: Microneedling and Red Light Therapy

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
1

I have always had fine and thin hair, but it never bothered me much until I started noticing more and more hair on my pillow, in the shower, and on my brush. I was losing my hair, and I didn’t know why. I tried everything I could think of to stop it: shampoos, supplements, oils, massages, but nothing seemed to work. I was desperate and depressed, and I hated looking at myself in the mirror.

One day, I came across an article online that talked about microneedling for hair loss. Microneedling is a procedure that involves rolling tiny needles over the scalp to create micro-injuries that stimulate the skin’s healing response. The article claimed that microneedling could increase blood flow, oxygen, and growth factors to the hair follicles, which could improve their health and function. It also said that microneedling could enhance the absorption of topical products, such as minoxidil or PRP, that are used to treat hair loss.

I was intrigued by the idea of microneedling, but I was also scared. I didn’t like the thought of poking holes in my scalp and causing pain and bleeding. I wondered if it was safe and effective, and if it had any side effects or risks. I decided to do some more research and consult with a dermatologist before trying it.

I learned that microneedling is a minimally invasive and relatively safe procedure that has been used for various cosmetic purposes, such as reducing wrinkles, scars, and pigmentation. I also found out that microneedling has been shown to be effective for different types of hair loss, such as male or female pattern baldness or alopecia areata. However, I also discovered that microneedling has some limitations and drawbacks, such as requiring multiple sessions and maintenance treatments, being expensive and not covered by insurance, and potentially causing infection, scarring, or allergic reactions if not done properly or with sterile equipment.

I weighed the pros and cons of microneedling and decided to give it a try. I booked an appointment with a reputable clinic that offered microneedling for hair loss. The doctor explained the procedure to me and applied a numbing cream to my scalp. He then used a device called a dermaroller, which had hundreds of tiny needles attached to a handle, to roll over my scalp in different directions. The procedure was not as painful as I expected, but it did feel uncomfortable and prickly. It took about 15 minutes to complete, and then the doctor applied some minoxidil to my scalp to enhance its effect.

The doctor told me that I would need to repeat the procedure every few weeks for several months to see results. He also advised me to avoid washing my hair for 24 hours after each session, to avoid sun exposure or heat for 48 hours, and to use gentle products and avoid harsh chemicals or styling tools on my hair. He warned me that I might experience some redness, swelling, or bleeding on my scalp for a few days after each session, but that it would subside quickly.

I followed the doctor’s instructions and went for microneedling sessions regularly. After about three months, I started noticing some changes in my hair. It looked fuller and thicker than before, and I could see some new hairs growing in areas where I had lost them. My hair loss also slowed down significantly, and I saw less hair on my pillow, in the shower, and on my brush. I was amazed by the results of microneedling and felt more confident and happy about my appearance.

But microneedling was not the only thing that helped me regrow my hair. Around the same time that I started microneedling, I also learned about another treatment that could help with hair loss: red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level laser or LED light to stimulate hair growth and prevent hair loss, the pros and cons of red light therapy are pretty acceptable as well. Red light therapy works by irradiating photons into the scalp tissues, which are absorbed by the cells and increase their energy production. This can boost blood circulation, oxygen delivery, collagen synthesis, and cellular metabolism in the scalp, which can improve the health and function of the hair follicles.

Red light therapy has some advantages over microneedling for hair loss, such as being painless and convenient. It does not cause any skin damage or inflammation, and it can be done at home with a handheld device or a cap that fits over the head. It also has no known side effects or contraindications, and it can be used alone or in combination with other treatments.

However, red light therapy also has some drawbacks compared to microneedling for hair loss, such as being slower and less potent. It may take longer to see results, as it requires daily sessions of 15 to 30 minutes for several months. It may not be effective for everyone or for all types of hair loss, as it depends on the wavelength and intensity of the light used. It may also be more expensive than microneedling in the long run.

I decided to try red light therapy along with microneedling, as I thought they could complement each other and enhance their effects. I bought a red light therapy cap online that had good reviews and ratings. It was a cap that had LED lights embedded in it, and it came with a controller that allowed me to adjust the time and intensity of the light. I started using the cap every day for 20 minutes, usually in the morning or at night.

I noticed that the cap was very easy and comfortable to use. It did not feel hot or heavy on my head, and it did not interfere with my daily activities. I could wear it while reading, watching TV, or doing chores. I also did not experience any adverse effects from using the cap, such as headaches, eye strain, or skin irritation.

After about six months of using both microneedling and red light therapy, I was astonished by the improvement in my hair. My hair was thicker, denser, and stronger than ever before. I had regained most of the hair that I had lost, and my scalp was almost fully covered. My hair also looked healthier and shinier, and I received many compliments on how good it looked. I felt like a new person, and I was so grateful for finding these treatments that changed my life.

Microneedling and red light therapy are two treatments that can help with hair loss and promote hair growth. They have different mechanisms of action, benefits, and risks, and they can be used separately or together to achieve optimal results. If you are suffering from hair loss and looking for a solution, you may want to consider trying microneedling or best handheld led light therapy device or both. However, you should always consult with your doctor or a dermatologist before starting any treatment, as they can advise you on the best option for your condition and goals. You should also do your research and choose a reputable provider or product that meets the quality and safety standards.

Have you tried microneedling or red light therapy for hair loss? What was your experience and results? Share your story with us in the comments below. We would love to hear from you!

healthagingadvice
1

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.