Longevity logo

The Smoothie Recipe Our Health Editor Recommends For All-Day Energy & Blood Sugar Support

This is for you!

By Shashi ThennakoonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The adage "breakfast is the most important meal of the day" may be overstated, but I do know that the first meal I have after rising does set the tone for the rest of my day.

That's why I love smoothies so much. They're not only refreshing, but they're also a quick and easy method to acquire a variety of vitamins and minerals in one meal.

You can add a variety of fruits, vegetables, seeds, nuts, and healthy seasonings. My go-to tool for maximizing nutrient absorption? Organic veggies+ from mindbodygreen.

My favorite green smoothie recipe always featured ginger and turmeric, fiber-rich flax, phytonutrient-rich leafy greens, and cinnamon until this potent green powder reached the market. All of those critical ingredient boxes are now checked by organic veggies+.

Aside from those fantastic ingredients, the greens powder also contains vegan digestive enzymes, as well as prebiotics and probiotics, to aid regularity.

The adage "breakfast is the most important meal of the day" may be overstated, but I know that the first meal I have after rising does set the tone for the remainder of my day.

That is why I love smoothies so much. They're not only refreshing, but they're also a quick and easy method to get a variety of vitamins and minerals.

It also includes a USDA-certified organic blend of carrots, broccoli, spinach, kale, alfalfa sprouts, beetroot, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, acai, and acerola cherry extract, which would be impossible to fit into one smoothie otherwise (hey, there's only so much room in that blender) (to name a few; after all, there are 31 unique ingredients).

In terms of the smoothie's substance, I love a thick texture, therefore use frozen bananas (or another frozen fruit) as the basis, along with a cup or so of ice. I'll also add a tablespoon of chia seeds, which thickens the smoothie while also providing plant-based omega-3s. For added taste, creaminess, and healthy fat, I like to use nut butter.

Even though organic veggies+ already has cinnamon bark extract, I like to add a pinch of Ceylon cinnamon for added flavor and blood sugar-supporting properties. To go with the large variety of powdered organic veggies, I like to add a little fresh spinach. Plus, I like the taste of fresh ginger in my green smoothie, so I'll toss in a small knob of the root whenever I have it on hand.

I prefer a thick texture in my smoothies, so I use frozen bananas (or similar frozen fruit) as the foundation, along with a cup or so of ice. I'll also throw in a spoonful of chia seeds to thicken the smoothie and provide plant-based omega-3s. I prefer to use nut butter for extra flavor, creaminess, and healthy fat.

Despite the fact that organic veggies+ already contains cinnamon bark extract, I like to add a pinch of Ceylon cinnamon for enhanced flavor and blood sugar-balancing benefits. I prefer to add a little fresh spinach to the huge range of powdered organic veggies. In addition, I enjoy the flavor of fresh ginger in my green smoothie, so I'll throw in a little knob whenever I have it on hand.

This green smoothie has the texture of a creamy, gingery milkshake and makes me feel full and ready to take on the day.

green smoothie recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp. mindbodygreen organic veggies+
  • ½ medium frozen banana
  • ½ cup spinach
  • 1 tbsp. nut butter
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 cup oat milk (or your milk of choice)
  • dash of Ceylon cinnamon
  • 1 cup ice (note: adjust depending on preferred thickness)
  • optional: 1 tsp. fresh ginger root

Method:

Toss all ingredients into a blender (adjusting the milk and ice ratio to your liking).

Blend until smooth.

organic
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.