Longevity logo

The Mystery of Dimly Lit Rooms

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3
The Mystery of Dimly Lit Rooms
Photo by Mia Baker on Unsplash

Entering home after a tiring day on the campus, I gave my mom a tight hug and then stepped into the living room. A mouthwatering scent hit me, and I immediately knew that Grandma must be in the kitchen, cooking her own recipe for lunch. Excited at the prospect, I skipped to my room without bothering to pay any further attention to the dimly-lit living room. With the homemade meal on my mind, I freshened up hastily, slipping my feet into cozy slippers and skipping like a little girl to the kitchen.

Wondering why the lights were dimmed, I peeked into the kitchen and saw my grandma standing near the stove, stirring. The dishes laid on the table were covered, hiding the contents from my hopeful eyes. I barged in, hugged grandma, and asked her what's on the menu for lunch. She just laughed, patted me on the head, and told me to go out and wait for it. At this moment, my mom entered, also laughing, and told me to keep my curious little nose out of the kitchen until everything is done. Pouting at both of them ganging up on poor old me, I stomped outside. The laughter didn't stop, and I could still hear them in the hallway.

Deciding to put my skills to good use, I put all my attention into figuring out the reason behind the dim lights. Taking out my imaginary sheriff cap and flashlight, I began the adventure. The commentary started playing in my mind; "Afternoon with a temperature of 20°C, the lady sheriff crept around the hallways trying to discover the mystery of the silence in the present time. The dimmed-out light was also the source of a rising question in her mind." Pulling open the door to the little brother's room, the silence hung in the air as no noise came from the room. Flipping on the lights, the sheriff investigated. Everything was in place; the school bag thrown on the bed gave the sheriff a clue that the little brother was home. But where was he? That was the question.

Turning off the lights and closing the door behind her, she crept quietly to the little sister's room. The lights were on, the bag was on the dressing table, and the bed was a mess of blankets, but the human presence was absent. Turning the lights off, the sheriff's instincts told her to head to the living room. The sheriff followed her gut.

The living room was comparably too dark to be called dimly lit. It was hard for the sheriff to see where she was stepping. At this moment, the sheriff wished for night vision goggles but alas, she didn't have them. Regardless, being brave, she took the pen torch from her pocket and shined it around. The sleeping toddler came into focus, and pulling the light away from him, the missing people came into focus. The little brother was dozing off on the carpet while the little sister was snuggled comfortably with the cushion on the sofa. It immediately clicked in the head of the sheriff that the missing people were babysitting after they came home from the campus and fell asleep trying to put the toddler to sleep. With the mystery solved, the sheriff patted herself on the back for a job well done.

The adventure was complete and just in time, the grandma waved me over, and I happily skipped to her. I was starting to feel hungry after the mini-adventure; sometimes I truly feel like a kid in an adult's body. With food on my mind, I settled at the table with two of my favorite ladies, waiting for the food reveal.

wellnessmental healthlifestylehumor
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood3 months ago

    This was an hilarious piece of comedy, and a reminder that it's good to be a child sometimes! We used to play at sheriffs over here in England too, in fact westerns were always very popular with us, maybe for the same reason country music was. I loved it too that your brother and sister had tired themselves out babysitting, because I remember those exhausting toddlers from your previous story about them! This one, however, so captures a particular mood that I pictured most of it in black and white, accompanied by a little harmonica music. You're always so good at establishing mood, and it's great to see you can turn this just as successfully to comic effect! The most surprising thing of all, however, may be how easy it is to picture you wearing the hat and cowboy clothes...! I would love to read more humorous pieces like this from you. Hope the dinner was good, because you earned it with your sleuthing!

  • Test3 months ago

    Marvelous work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.