Longevity logo

The Healthcare System is Stacked Against You

My Own Story is Proof

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Health care is not perfect in other countries as I have recently been schooled on by talking to other people on Facebook but since I protect my sources I can't say from where. My type 1-diabetes had a hard time being diagnosed, for example but that was probably something done by my primary caregiver, my mother. Advocacy is key, but I went through many years of my life not knowing I had 22q at all, until I turned 18. Then I said, great now I have to deal with it. I didn't find out about low blood platelets being a part of 22q until these last two years.

Two years ago in November was the last time I had a cold. Then in December, I had flu. Now with COVID going around, I have to be ultra careful, mask wearing, and keep myself safe from people just because with 25 mg Lamictal, I can't be easily brainwashed. The thing is that my diabetes was not discovered until I was in diabetic coma at 10 years old. I fell asleep at home, and I woke up in the hospital.

Years later, I still feel odd when I finally fall asleep, so odd that sometimes I do not notice that I've fallen asleep but to outsiders it looks like that. I have major CPTSD from the hospitalization, so much so that I fear walking into hospitals. When I blew my knee out in 2016 that was the most ambulance I've seen since diabetes. I wasn't even conscious for that. The knee injury happened out of nowhere but my explanation is Not Safe for Muggles, or NSFM. I'm writing this without being obvious as to who did what, just because I can't talk about some stuff directly just yet.

Low blood platelets being as low as they are causes anemia, and my anemia is aggravated by mr.hernia. I have a small hiatal hernia that is causing me drama, which I want removed, and a medical test this week. The healthcare system is somewhat stacked against people since it is yet another way to mess with the population. I'm a lucky one because another diabetic coma case at the same hospital died compared to my case, which was successfully treated. Yes, I'm anemic right now, which means I have to eat more meat, anemia being what it is, causing me physical weakness. Yes, in general, I feel very physically weak, getting winded from throwing out garbage, and being so weak I can't walk let alone do any sports, indoor or outdoor or otherwise.

I'm frustrated, stressed, pissed, and aggravated. My hernia became open about itself in 2018, when I had a partial intestinal obstruction when I started therapy in Fall 2017. I have NSFM explanations that are confined to my blog or the pagan community where I'd prefer to use a screen name so as to hide my real identity. The partial obstruction started in December after I got the flu. Flu can trigger a lot of different things, and now these days being treated I'm not manic from the pain for days on end, not sleeping very well. That is what happens when you have an untreated mental illness, you cannot fall asleep often enough. I was forced to function through severe sleep deprivation, which has a cascade effect on your cognitive functions. I'm grateful that in the present, I have treatment in the form of medication, while others aren't so lucky. I'm also able to sleep a lot more in the present. After hernia surgery I will be physically weak. I will also be unable to bend over too much, assuming I shouldn't bend over much now. Yes, quite a recipe, with type 1-diabetes in the mix. Diabetic coma was traumatizing, and I said to myself never again so ever since I have worked very hard to take care of myself.

health
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.