Longevity logo

Thanksgiving

Celebrating holidays during a pandemic.

By PaulaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by: Karolina Grabowska

Thanksgiving and Christmas are coming up so fast! Very soon we will be in 2021. Hoping the new year brings us better days. So weather or not you celebrate Thanksgiving or Christmas, Kwanza, Hanukkah, or nothing at all, etc. It might be hard to find things to be thankful for during these hard times. Especially if you’re suffering from loss or mental health issues. Which I myself suffer with my mental health. Either way we shouldn’t just be thankful once a year. We should always look at what we have and be thankful for it. It puts a good perspective on our lives to be thankful for the things we do have over the things we wish we had. So, I just want to shine a little light on what I’m thankful for.

I’m thankful for my kids, I have two little boys that I adore (a 1yr old and a 4yr old) and a husband who works hard everyday to provide for us. I’m also thankful for our families. My husband is currently deployed and not only has my family taken us in but so has his. I’m grateful to have people who love us and care about us as much as they do. I’m thankful to be able to celebrate this Thanksgiving with my Oma(grandmother). She’s up in age but I’m glad we get to spend this time with her. My 4yr old absolutely loves her! He helps her make cookies and he sits with her in her chair all the time! It really warms my heart that he is so close with her. We don’t live near our family, we actually live about 1700mis away. I made a trip East to visit some friends across the country and before I went home I wanted to come here so my kids and I could spend time with our family. So I made the 1200mi trip further south before heading back west to go home. Crazy I know, this is actually our second trip across the country this year. We have been to 26 states, driving the whole way. It took a lot of patience and caffeine! Lol! I’m grateful for our friends who let us stay with them and I’m thankful that they are like family to us. I’m also thankful for the friends who have taken care of our two dogs back home. I’m grateful to have a home and for everything else in between.

Regardless of what I have or what I’m thankful for, I want you reading this to think about what you’re thankful for. It could be waking up to another day, having a meal to eat or a roof over your head. It doesn’t have to be anything big, it can be something as small as a sunny day. Whatever you’re thankful for is your own to cherish! Hold it close to your heart! Even if it’s something small. Be thankful that every day is new! Just know that even through these rough times there’s someone who’s thankful for you and that’s me. If you feel alone and just need someone to talk to you can find me on Instagram, @paulaa_ann just message me telling me you came from Vocal.

Created with: Canva

I’m thankful we could take this trip and that my kids and I haven’t been infected with COVID. That no one close to me has suffered from this. If you have suffered in anyway from the pandemic, I’m sorry. If you’ve had COVID-19 or if you know someone who has had it or if you’ve lost someone to it, I’m genuinely sorry. We have all been suffering, some more than others. So please remember this:

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.” -Aesop

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Paula

I’m just a girl who likes to write for fun!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.