Longevity logo

Struggling With Acne

Help

By ELPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

Acne is something I have struggled with for about six years now. Wow, even typing six years makes me realize how long I have been having such horrible skin issues.

I can't go outside without foundation on.

I don't let my boyfriend see me in the shower.

NOBODY sees me without foundation on.

Every day I wake up and it's the first thing I think about. I think about how ugly I am without makeup on. I think about how my boyfriend would dump me if he saw the real me. I think about how much happier I would be if I just had clear skin. It is something I struggle with externally and internally. I never feel like I can be myself around others without them looking at my skin.

My pores are huge, I have oily skin, and my face is as red as a tomato. I have tried everything, and I mean everything, to stop my acne from getting worse, and nothing has worked. Birth control only slightly helped, but only because I expected it to. I know not wearing makeup so often would help my skin, but I cannot physically get myself to not wear it. I cry almost every night when I see I have a new pimple. It is ruining my life.

I can't go swimming without thinking about my skin, I can't go to the store without makeup on, I can't even look in the mirror without cringing.

I don't know what to do.

I find myself being confident some days and being able to take a makeup wipe and take it all off, but that's rare. I know it isn't as important as other problems in the world, but it is mine.

It sucks because I have a great life.

A great family, friends, boyfriend, the best school.

There are few things in my life that are genuinely bad, but this issue just ruins all the other good in my life. I want to be able to go do something spontaneously without having to worry about getting ready.

This isn’t me asking for skincare advice, this is me asking for life advice. I have no idea how to be comfortable in my own skin. I want to know what it feels like to be yourself every day at any hour. I feel like a different version of myself when I step outside in my “mask.” At this point, I feel like I am just rambling about my insecurities, but it is how I feel.

Another big issue I have with my skin is working out. Recently I have been trying to lose weight by eating healthy and going to the gym. Eating healthy helps my skin a lot, as well as water, but when I am working out, I have to wear makeup and I break out so much more because of the sweat and oils I produce while working out. It came to the point I just stopped working out altogether because I couldn’t handle breaking out more. So even when I am trying to better myself fitness-wise, my skin is still an issue. There are no other words than sadness when I think about my skin, and it hurts me every morning. I am sitting in my living room with my family and I cannot stop thinking they are looking at my skin and judging me. Deep down I know they aren’t, but it is just an irrational fear I have about everyone looking at me. Acne is such a burden and I feel like it is ruining my life every single day.

health

About the Creator

EL

23 years old..join me on this ride

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ELWritten by EL

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.