Wander logo

Yachting With a Billionaire

Somehow I found myself on a yacht in Washington, DC.

By ELPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Before I begin telling the story, I need to give you a few details.

I went to school in West Virginia for a year and met some really good friends there. So in the summer of 2017, I went to visit them in Virginia. Now these friends I made are the most loving and kind people I know, but they are also bat-shit crazy. I will call them M and K. While I was visiting them, I told them about how much I love learning about the monuments in DC because they lived so close to it, and they wanted to show me the other side of DC, the wild side. So we packed in an Uber and made the 30 minute trek to the city (Mind you, we have water bottles full of shitty vodka and wine).

Now THIS is how the story begins. We decide to treat ourselves a little and go to a restaurant on the edge of the river. There were yachts lining up and down the docks, but little me paid no attention to them. I don't get to see them a lot so I was getting everything on the menu. I was buying rounds of shots, appetizers, and the most gourmet food I could imagine. By this time, we are all pretty drunk and getting loud. Towards the end of dinner, I had to go pee (alcohol goes right through me). When I was coming back to the table, there were now two men (middle-aged men I will name B and R) at our table. I sat down and my friends informed me the men had picked up our bill, which was roughly $600. I am already impressed because that is a lot of money for a poor college student. After we started chatting and getting to know each other, we all got comfortable with each other.

THEN THE MOMENT HAPPENED, B looks at us and says "Do you guys want to go on my yacht for a little bit?" I swear to you I had never been more excited. We all agree to join the two men onto the yacht. And I thought it wouldnt get any better, BUT IT DOES. We get aboard the yacht with a staff greeting us. A FULL STAFF. They handed us each a bottle of champagne, and asked us what snacks we would want. I obviously said a cheese platter because that's who I am, and within 30 minutes I had a gourmet cheese platter. We were popping bottles, and living our best lives. We stayed on the yacht for a few hours just drinking and talking, then we decided to change locations. We got off the boat and R led us to a limo. By this time I knew I had to stop drinking or I wouldnt be able to remember the best night of my life. We all hop in the limo and head to a boujee club that was underground. B did the typical "they're with me" and we were let into a private room. The room was full of men with suits on and women in the classiest dresses (not like college bars). And we just got free drinks all night. I even met a man in the House Of Representatives! Now it was about 2 AM and we all wanted to go home. B and R had houses in DC they were going home to, and we were going to uber back home. But B decided to just buy us a hotel room (us girls) and they would go home. Before I knew it, we were sitting in the lobby of the Ritz in Washington D.C. They gave just us one room, gave us the key, and then just left. We were free to do what we wanted, and the mini bar was gone in seconds. They left and we never saw them again. Then we went sight-seeing in the morning, and I saw the Washington monument.

(I know this was very dangerous and we should NOT have followed strange men onto an unknown boat, but it was a once in a lifetime experience I won't experience again.)

america
Like

About the Creator

EL

23 years old..join me on this ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.