Longevity logo

SELF DEFENSE AGAINST CANCER

The complete story of my survival story

By Jorge Bravo Published 20 days ago 4 min read

“I NEVER IMAGINED I COULD EVER HAVE CANCER”

This is not a scientific article, but only a successful story from the perspective of a patient who´s always wondered how Nature has given us so many ways to accompany the last and most advanced medical treatments to heal.

Before going into details, the story resumes as follows: I got sick with a violent episode of seizures, then I was taken to the hospital for urgent care, woke up after 4 days in a comma at the ICU, was operated 15 days later after the medical team researched how to tackle the complexity of the case—then, spent 2 months of Clinic Rehabilitation. Then it took me 2-3 years to leave the wheelchair and the quad cane and start walking by myself. Next, I had to go through an extensive series of radiations and chemotherapy, day and night followed by four years of oral chemotherapy, until no remains were found in the MRI images. Now all blood tests and MRIs show I’m cancer clean. No matter this, I even still can´t stop limping, but after all I´ve been going through, that is a minor thing.

Now, let´s jump into the details,

My name is JORGE BRAVO, age 56, CIVIL ENGINEER, always in good health, never used to drink, never smoked; instead, I´ve been riding my bicycle daily for not less than 30 miles/day ride. Alcohol wasn´t part of my life, perhaps a couple of beers with my friends or family on special occasions or holidays as usual. Everything was going well until one evening after coming back from work, I had a very violent episode of seizures that made me fall from bed. 911 paramedics service got to the scene and rushed me immediately to the Orlando Adventh Health Specialized Neurological Hospital where I woke up 4 days later not knowing what had happened at all. While I still was in comma, I remember hearing voices of loved ones speaking blessings to me. Everything was so confusing, then finally I was able to see myself lying in a UCI bed coughing the respirator out of my throat and trying to respond to the questions that the medical team was asking me insistently, such as who the president of the UNITED STATES was or, my name, date of birth, family, sons, past life, place of work, last I remember, preferred meals, beverages, sports. All that left me exhausted and put me to sleep again until the next day.

There, I was diagnosed with a very aggressive oligodendroglioma stage 4 that had been growing to the point of no reverse and needed to be removed immediately after falling into a coma state for several days. The surgeon was able to remove 100% of the tumor without touching or damaging any important brain connections or nerves (we Engineers, call them wiring and plugs), therefore, I did not present any definitive aftermath of physical mobility loss after the surgery completion, other than the difficulty to feed myself for a couple of weeks. Perhaps the main issue I had from it was the temporary loss of mobility of my left entire body which led me to an arduous 2–3-year physical rehabilitation program to be able to step up from the wheelchair and start walking again period of hard physical therapy workouts, and then I was able to leave using the quad-cane to walk by myself.

Right after the tumor removal surgery, the medical team recommended proceeding with a severe oncology treatment to ensure as much as possible all the microscopic cancer cells were burned out to avoid any chance of growing up again. They put me on a severe schedule for 56 radiations in the morning and 56 sessions of oral Chemotherapy with Themodar in the evenings, all of them in a row with no rest at all. They knew this treatment was considered one of the most severe available but at the same time, it was the only way to keep the malignus cells from getting back to the scene.

At this point, I saw the process as having THREE responsibilities: the FIRST and most important and urgent, was entrusting my health in the Lord´s hands, as a catholic believer I understood that the Lord has a plan for everyone, and if if it was time to get back to him, I only needed to accept it. SECOND: since I was still having seizures I knew the only way to be free of them was to entrust my life to Him and decided to close my eyes before entering the operating room to let the surgeon get rid of the golf tumor and the remains no matter how big the risk was. The doctors said I could become paralyzed for life (which I’m still struggling to overcome, but I´m thankful to the Lord, cause 2 months after leaving the Rehabilitation Clinic, I was able to speak, hear, see, and smell, I kept all my senses in resume, I was blessed). THE THIRD Responsibility, not less important than the others, was starting a research program to reinforce my immune system cause I knew the treatment would affect my immune system, therefore I needed to take action right away even before beginning the oncology treatment. The first step that my doctor recommended was to avoid 100%sugars and carbs. They´ve been demonstrated to be real power fuel for making tumor cells grow.

This way, I began searching for the optimum diet to reinforce my immune system and help defend myself from this terrible disease.

In the blink of an eye, anyone who takes the initiative to search the media may easily find the following:

A spectacular source of natural anti-oxidants can be found in: All kinds of berries, and green vegetables, especially all green-colored ones like spinach, broccoli, kale, Cauliflower, garlic, chickpeas, grains like black beans, avocadoes, tomatoes, and carrots.

Now, from the animal source, we may need to put aside all red meats and replace them with fish like salmon.

Remember to take care of your mental health as well. Stay away from the naysayers and your optimistic view of the situation will blossom.

healthagingsuccess

About the Creator

Jorge Bravo

don´t miss out this opportunity to know my story of how I survived from a massive brain oligodendrioglioma by strictly changing my diet and following the doctor´s recommendations during the oncology treatment.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JBWritten by Jorge Bravo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.