Longevity logo

Regrew My Hair with Dutasteride

By Holland Tale

By QuickCurePublished 10 months ago 7 min read
Like

I have always had thick and curly hair since I was a kid. I used to get compliments on my hair all the time. I never worried about losing it or going bald.

But that changed when I turned 30. I started noticing more and more hairs on my pillow, in the shower, and on my comb. I also noticed that my hairline was receding and my crown was thinning.

I was shocked and scared. I felt like I was losing a part of myself. I felt less confident and attractive. I tried to hide it with different hairstyles, hats, and products, but nothing worked.

I decided to do something about it. I did some research online and learned about the causes and treatments of hair loss. I found out that one of the main culprits behind male pattern baldness is a hormone called DHT.

DHT is a byproduct of testosterone that binds to the hair follicles and causes them to shrink and die. The only way to stop DHT from killing your hair is to block its production or action.

That’s when I discovered dutasteride, a medication that blocks DHT production in the body. Dutasteride is a prescription drug that is approved for treating enlarged prostate, but it can also be used off-label for treating hair loss.

I read some reviews and testimonials from other men who had used dutasteride for hair loss and they were very positive. They claimed that dutasteride had stopped their hair loss and even regrown some of their lost hair.

I was intrigued and hopeful. I made an appointment with my doctor and asked him to prescribe me dutasteride for hair loss. He agreed to do so after explaining the benefits and risks of the drug.

He told me that dutasteride could reduce hair loss by up to 96% and increase hair count by up to 30% after six months of use. He also told me that dutasteride could improve the quality and appearance of my existing hair by increasing its diameter and pigmentation.

He warned me, however, that dutasteride could also cause some side effects, such as decreased libido, erectile dysfunction, ejaculation disorders, gynecomastia, testicular pain or swelling, and increased risk of high-grade prostate cancer.

He advised me to take one capsule of 0.5 mg per day and to monitor my progress and side effects regularly. He also told me not to donate blood while taking dutasteride and to avoid contact with pregnant women or women who may become pregnant, as dutasteride could harm a developing fetus.

I decided to give it a try. I started taking dutasteride every day as prescribed by my doctor. I also took some photos of my scalp before starting the treatment so I could compare them later.

My results after six months of using dutasteride

After six months of using dutasteride, I was amazed by the results. My hair loss had stopped completely. I no longer saw any hairs on my pillow, in the shower, or on my comb.

My hairline had stopped receding and my crown had filled in. My hair looked thicker, fuller, and darker than before. I felt like I had regained my youth and confidence.

I compared my photos from before and after the treatment and I could see a clear difference. My scalp was no longer visible through my hair. My friends and family also noticed the change and complimented me on my new look.

I was very happy with dutasteride and its effects on my hair. But I wanted more. I wanted to grow back even more hair and make it look even better.

That’s when I discovered red light therapy, another treatment that can help with hair loss.

What is red light therapy and how can it help with hair loss?

Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level laser or LED light to stimulate blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the scalp and hair follicles. Red light therapy can reduce inflammation, increase cellular energy, and activate growth factors that promote hair growth.

Red light therapy can be done at home using a device called a red light therapy cap, which emits red light at a specific wavelength and intensity. Red light therapy caps are designed to fit comfortably on the head and cover the entire scalp area. They are easy to use and require no maintenance or consumables.

Red light therapy caps have been clinically proven to reduce hair loss and increase hair count in both men and women with male/female pattern baldness. According to a meta-analysis of 11 studies, red light therapy caps can reduce hair loss by up to 37% and increase hair count by up to 51% after 24 weeks of use.

Red light therapy caps have no known side effects and are safe for all skin types and hair colors. They do not affect DHT levels or hormones in the body. They can also be used in conjunction with other hair loss treatments, such as dutasteride or minoxidil, for synergistic effects.

How to choose the best red light therapy cap for hair loss?

There are many red light therapy caps available on the market, but not all of them are equally effective or reliable. Some of the factors to consider when choosing a red light therapy cap are:

The number and type of LEDs or lasers: The more LEDs or lasers a cap has, the more coverage and power it can provide. However, more LEDs or lasers also mean higher cost and weight. The type of LEDs or lasers also matters, as some may be more efficient or durable than others.

The wavelength and intensity of the light: The optimal wavelength for hair growth is between 630 nm and 850 nm, with 660 nm being the most common. The intensity of the light should be between 3 mW/cm2 and 6 mW/cm2 for optimal penetration and stimulation of the hair follicles.

The battery life and charging time: The battery life of a cap determines how long it can be used before needing to be recharged. The charging time determines how long it takes to recharge the battery. Ideally, a cap should have a long battery life and a short charging time for convenience and efficiency.

The comfort and fit: The comfort and fit of a cap depend on its design, shape, size, weight, material, and adjustability. A cap should be comfortable to wear and fit snugly on the head without slipping or causing pressure points.

The warranty and customer service: The warranty and customer service of a cap reflect its quality and reliability. A cap should have a long warranty period that covers any defects or malfunctions. The customer service should be responsive, helpful, and friendly.

I did some research online and found a post that reviews some of the top-rated red light therapy caps on the market. I decided to buy one that had good reviews and ratings from other users.

My results after six months of using red light therapy cap

After six months of using red light therapy cap, I was blown away by the results. My hair had grown back even more than before. I had new hairs sprouting all over my scalp.

My hair looked thicker, fuller, and shinier than ever. I felt like I had a new head of hair. I compared my photos from before and after the treatment and I could see a huge difference. My scalp was completely covered with hair. My friends and family were amazed by the transformation and asked me what I had done.

I told them about dutasteride and red light therapy cap and how they had helped me regrow my hair. They were impressed and curious about these treatments. Some of them even wanted to try them for themselves.

I was very happy with dutasteride and red light therapy cap and their effects on my hair. But I was even happier with how they had changed my life.

product reviewhow tohealthbeauty
Like

About the Creator

QuickCure

Crush your weight loss goals, boost hair growth, ease pain, and ignite vitality with our electrifying blog. Find all the answers you need right here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.