Longevity logo

Reasons Ergomotion Adjustable Beds Allow for a Healthier, More Restful Sleep

After leaving a trail of five mattresses across two states in my dissatisfied wake, I decided to try Ergomotion.

By Riley BatesPublished 5 years ago 8 min read
Like

I never thought about seriously purchasing an adjustable bed like the Ergomotion until pretty recently. When I was a kid, I would visit my grandmother's apartment with my family and I was always intrigued by her bed. There were two reasons for this—one, her cats always hid beneath it, and I was obsessed with befriending these furry creatures. Two, my grandmother was always trying out different types of beds. First, she had a waterbed, which I was always darkly tempted to jump on just to test it out and see if it'd pop. (Great kid, right?)

A few years later, she got a motorized bed, and even though I was told not to play with the buttons too much, I simply had to try it once. She had one of the early Tempur-Pedic models and it worked, but it had a large, clunky remote with buttons that were surprisingly hard to push and hold down. Regardless, I still played with it a bit, putting it up and down like it was a very slow amusement park ride.

Let's fast forward a decade.

I spent much of my young adult life thinking that motorized beds were just for senior citizens, but by the humble age of 24, I already have some issues with my back. It's nothing severe yet, but the static flatness of your typical mattress hasn't been doing it for me. I've had traditional mattresses and foam mattresses—I've actually had a total of five different mattresses in my adult life thus far, moving up and down the east coast and leaving a trail of mattresses behind me.

One of my foam mattresses so left me disappointed, that it ultimately ended up getting stuffed into a grateful friend's two-door vehicle. Yup, you read that right. You probably shouldn't try to make a foam mattress as small as it was when you first got it, but it can be done.

After that, I got a larger foam mattress, but it still wasn't enough. I started looking into adjustable beds, but most of them require you to buy a special mattress with them. I didn't want to abandon a fifth mattress, which was how I discovered the Ergomotion adjustable bed base.

Time to fix a little of that back pain. I spend way too much time sitting, so an ergonomic bed is a must.

After doing a little research—and by research, I just mean creeping around their website for five minutes—I discovered that Ergomotion's Adjustable Bed Base works with a lot of the big mattress companies out there, so I could use their bed base with my current foam mattress. I thought this was pretty cool, since I could get the flexibility of a motorized mattress base without forking out the extra cash to buy yet another mattress. It made the idea of upgrading to an adjustable mattress feel a lot more doable for someone like me. I still had that lingering sense that I didn't need an adjustable mattress just because I have generic back pain rather than a specific condition.

The company is new, but growing, which made me feel all the more comfortable about my purchase. I'm sure I'm not the only person who feels a little hesitant sometimes when buying from a new brand rather than an established one, but Ergomotion is thriving. There's a great warranty, and they actually have locations in both California and over in Europe. It's a nice perk, if I ever fulfill my fantasy of moving to Paris, I can still get an Ergomotion bed pretty easily.

You can experience the fun of adjusting your bed to your whims and what feels the most comfortable on your back with a super quiet motor powering the bed. You can put it in any position you want, for whatever feels best on your spine that day. If you're a creature of habit, they also have presets. It's wonderfully comfortable to adjust to different positions when it's just you on the bed, but if you do have a partner, they have a version that will allow you to have different positions on different sides of your mattress, too.

If your partner snores, this feature should be incredibly welcomed since your partner can elevate their side of the bed to straighten out their esophagus and lessen their snoring dramatically. My partner is, unfortunately, a snorer—being able to lessen that was an unexpected and welcomed surprise.

It's handy if you're a side sleeper, too. I'm the type who will only lay on my back if I have a terrible backache or if I'm sick. Being able to adjust the mattress a little at the top makes it even more comfortable to sleep on my side than it is on a typical, flat mattress. Unlike the motorized beds of old, almost every model of Ergomotion's remotes is wireless, so there's nothing for my cat to chew on. That may sound like a joke, but trust me—with my cat's wire-munching ways, it's a relief. I'm sure it's also enjoyed by people who have human babies instead of fur babies, having one less wire for a little one to pull on and get into trouble with.

Here's How It Helps

You can experience the fun of adjusting your bed to your whims and what feels the most comfortable on your back with a super quiet motor powering the bed. You can put it in any position you want, for whatever feels best on your spine that day. If you're a creature of habit, they also have presets. It's wonderfully comfortable to adjust to different positions when it's just you on the bed, but if you do have a partner, they have a version that will allow you to have different positions on different sides of your mattress, too.

If your partner snores, this feature should be incredibly welcomed since your partner can elevate their side of the bed to straighten out their esophagus and lessen their snoring dramatically. My partner is, unfortunately, a snorer—being able to lessen that was an unexpected and welcomed surprise.

It's handy if you're a side sleeper, too. I'm the type who will only lay on my back if I have a terrible backache or if I'm sick. Being able to adjust the mattress a little at the top makes it even more comfortable to sleep on my side than it is on a typical, flat mattress. Unlike the motorized beds of old, almost every model of Ergomotion's remotes is wireless, so there's nothing for my cat to chew on. That may sound like a joke, but trust me—with my cat's wire-munching ways, it's a relief. I'm sure it's also enjoyed by people who have human babies instead of fur babies, having one less wire for a little one to pull on and get into trouble with.

No matter what your day job is, restful sleep helps.

If you sit a lot, you probably have back pain. It may be sporadic, it might not be anything with a scary sounding diagnosis attached, but it's common and it's uncomfortable.

I'm a writer. I sit way too much. Though I have a motorized standing desk and try to stand as often as I can manage, it's inevitable that I spend a lot of time sitting down. If you have a desk job, you know the struggle and the inevitable backaches. Being able to adjust my mattress when I'm aching is pretty awesome.

I was a little afraid of needing to put it together, but there was very little assembly to deal with after the poor UPS man hauled the box up my apartment complex's stairs. I poked around Ergomotion's YouTube channel and found a bunch of handy instructional videos for assembling all their different models of bed bases.

I'm still a massive child on the inside, and had way too much fun trying out Ergomotion and exploring the full range of motion it offers. I may have cranked it up to the maximum settings on the top and bottom just for fun. I may have done it three times, but who's counting?

I think my favorite part about the Ergomotion is that I get to enjoy having an adjustable bed while still having the flexibility to choose from so many different mattress brands. With other brands of motorized beds, being limited to their one-and-only-mattress rule felt way too restrictive. Since Ergomotion works with so many different mattresses, I got to keep my favorite foam mattress and still have the fun and function of moving it to any position I want.

I find myself waking up in the middle of the night much less frequently, and it feels amazing to get up in the morning and actually feel rested. I used to think you needed to be old enough to have an AARP card to warrant having an adjustable bed, but I'm really glad that I got one when I did. It's comfortable, it helps me sleep better, and my spine is already thanking me.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Riley Bates

Classical piano student at Juilliard. Living in Brooklyn dueling piano bar. Just trying to make it in the Big City.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.