Longevity logo

14 hours on the other side

being cared for

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 11 days ago 4 min read
Like
hospitals by night

This about my recent experience of a long night in hospital and how it felt on the other side from my normal life. I am a full time carer in a supported living home , I have adult kids with special needs and have volunteered with numerous groups for people with disabilities. Recently my health has suffered and last week it all got turned around.

The pandemic left me with fibromyalgia as a result of catching covid. It left me with continuous pain , asthma symptoms and exhaustion. I have had numerous times in doctors, physios and having tests , last week was the first big deal. I mentioned to the doctor a new area of pain and she wanted to check. I have pain all the time but this was new and a little different. I thought it was a basic infection but the doctor thought otherwise.

After a poke and a prod she suggested a swab test for a blood clot, the test said I may have one so it was off to hospital. I went and collected my wife and off we went. I was reccomended not to drive in case I was taken ill. This was the first of a few scary moments for me. I have cared for ill people, people at the end of their lives and have been there as people have succumbed to their condition.

I was sent straight to an acute care assessment , which was the next level up from casualty. Having been assessed by my doctor my triage had been done, we got pointed to some seats and my night began at 7pm. First thing that happened an hour later was a nurse taking me to a curtained area for blood tests. The strange thing was having a canula put in my hand before any other tests or treatment. This un-nerved both of us as seemed to look like I was going to be treated.

In fact the next 9 hours were filled with trying to sleep on a reclining chair and random blood pressure tests. My wife had gone home after 3 hours and kept in touch by text. There was very little to tell and I tried to sleep a little. I think i managed to squeeze in to the chair and avoid ripping out the canula long enough for fitful sleep.

At 5 am I was woken by the doctor who squeezed me in among far to many others. He questioned me a little, said they were still waiting for test results and I needed an x-ray. So at 530 am I was guided to the x-ray department where I had to focus long enough to keep still. I then stumbled back to the ward to try and sleep a little more.

Again I dozed, Again I was woken. This time it was a nurse saying that after over 11 hours it was decided I hadn't bled enough for the tests . So I was stabbed again and hoped the test were quicker and definitive, which ever way they came out. I think by then I was prepared for either yes or no for a clot, the waiting was worse.

When the day shift arrived at 8am one of the new doctors came to discuss what was going on. He decided the bloods were ok, the x-ray was clear and i was left with one more test. This time it was the far less painfull urine test. I provided my half of the bargain and the nurse took it away to do her bit with the litmus paper. thankfully it was clear and I was released. My wife was glad to see me, i was glad to see her but I was still a little un nerved.

My doctor thought there was a problem, her test thought there may be a problem but all the hospital tests disagreed. I am still alive a week later so perhaps the hospital was right. In the main all the hospital staff had been great, good humoured and helpful. It was still strange though to be the one being cared for.

Any non UK residents reading this might want to know there is no bill, no invoice and nothing owed. Obviously our taxes have been utilised and this remains the safest way round. I might have ignored the pain if I though there was a hefty bill coming. The staff were generally busy, apart from times waiting for tests to come back.

The staff were working long hours over night, constant artificial light and rooms full of sick or possibly sick people. Apologies for delays or lack of room appeared to always be genuine, all questions were answered and they seemed to be enjoying their work.

After working hundreds of night shifts one thing impressed me the most, every member of staff appeared alert and awake. There might have been a few caffeinated drinks consumed but otherwise everyone was ready for action. Whether it be a vomiting teenager, a few elderly people with breathing problems or any other person waiting for care.

Also I noticed that I wasn't the only one waiting hours for help, yet there were very few complaints. I think the knowledge that pay and conditions weren't good for staff and that government funding was far too low meant we accepted what was happening. Also I expect a few who were waiting for a diagnosis were happier to wait if it meant an answer.

I am back to work and back to looking after others again. Much my happier way round. I have even more respect for our doctors and nurses who try and smile their way through. I am sure that ,despite numerous promises, that funding will never be enough. I am sure though that along with most of the country I don't want a privatised wealth service or one that produces a bill after treatment. We may be a little out dated with this way of caring for people, and in this case I am very happy its like that.

after dark

self carehealth
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.