Longevity logo

Overcoming Adversity as an Amputee in the Fitness Community

How I Helped Inspire Others

By Justin CrosslandPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Tonight got me thinking of how far I have come in the fitness community. A gym patron asked me if he could film me on Snapchat as I was doing squats. At first I was confused a little, but he explained that because of my prosthetic leg I inspired him to show others that they should be doing the same and what's their excuse. I complied and did it, not because he asked, but because I inspired him and I didn't want to let him down. Why is that so important to me? Let me explain.

When I was 15, I started my fitness journey. I have a prosthetic leg, so it was hard to find somewhere to start. I did my research and I took charge, all the while still being new to the atmosphere. It bugged me that I wasn't better, that I wasn't making a real change in my life yet. It seemed like everyone just wanted to stare and judge me. I believed they were judging me. Then finally, one day, it just clicked. I need a mentality where I don't care what others think. Let them stare, let them talk. My mentality became fearful of trying to improve to "If you want to stare and judge me because you think I can't do this, because my leg, fine. But guess what? I will prove you wrong!" I was doing strength training and I wasn't doing the best, but hey, who was going to help? I needed to rely on myself, so that's exactly what I did.

I continued to do my homework on what I could do to improve, hour after hour watching videos on form, reading books on nutrition and different exercises. I was still doing strength training, but was improving more drastically now. I knew what to do. I had gained a mindset that allowed me to perform under pressure. I was 19 now and I was starting to get recognition. It felt great.

It just so happen at this time I started working at a sports nutrition store. My knowledge and my body blew up. I once had a trainer come up to me and tell me "I really appreciate what you're doing. It's really inspiring to see you in here trying so hard." It was the first time I really felt like I made a breakthrough. All I had ever wanted was to help inspire people. I've had a prosthetic leg my entire life and have always been told I inspire others. So to hear those words were magic to me. So I continued.

After a while, I constantly had others coming up to me telling me that I inspired them to keep coming in, or how they were going to give up for the day but decided to keep going because if I could do it, they could too. I made two decisions at this point in my life: I will become a trainer and help others become better and overcome their adversities for one, I will start doing powerlifting for two.

I don't see my leg as a crippling feature. I use the phrase "just because I'm handicapped doesn't mean I'm crippled" constantly. It helped keep me going and overcome my own adversities. In doing so, it helped others, as well. I do both training and powerlifting now. I think it just goes to prove that it doesn't matter if you have an adversity, you can attack it and make it a point to improve. It can help others just by them watching you do better. You just need the courage to start.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Justin Crossland

Hello everyone! In short, I'm a personal trainer, class instructor and fitness enthusiasts. I also just like writing in general. I hope you enjoy my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.