Longevity logo

On the other side.

Most recently the frontline

By Rosiiee Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Hey there.

Thanks for dropping by, I wanted to write this little blog, on how it feels to be on the outside, I’m on the frontline yes I am not part of the nhs, but I am still a keyworker.

I work as a senior support worker, working with individuals who have complex learning disabilities, autism, and acquired brain injuries, and it can be very challenging but also rewarding.

However all I seem to see is people complaining that they can’t go out because of the lockdown, believe me I wish I didn’t have to go out and work in this pandemic, but do I do it everyday and strap myself in if the most messed up game of Russian roulette (metaphorically)

As well as having the imposition of being in a work place where we don’t have enough masks, and trying our hardest to protect ourselves and make ourselves be as healthy and ready to help the individuals live their lives as independently as possible, they depend on us. They are extremely vulnerable and most of them don’t understand the full grip of the situation, why they can’t go out and continue their weekly activities, and why we are keeping them indoors to protect them.

It’s extremely annoying, when people don’t adhere to the 2 metre rule, it’s there to protect you, as well as me, the last thing I would ever want is a mouth breather to breathe all over me and me to spread it on.

But then on the other hand I can’t help but wonder:

1) how many people have I come into contact with that have it

2) what else can I physically do to keep myself safe

3) what if I don’t have any symptoms but have it.

4) how long will this situation last

5) the whole keyworker stuff is getting pretty old.

Then I wonder how much the lockdown is going to affect everyone’s mental health, mines not the greatest but I’m allowed to travel to and from work as it’s classed as being essential, but I wonder how other people are coping and how they aren’t climbing the walls, and how they are entertaining their children and themselves throughout this pandemic.

In addition I also wonder about the other individuals that are also on the frontline, selflessly giving themselves to the most vulnerable people, I have the upmost respect for any and every keyworker no matter what job title you have, you are essential and you are still making this situation better.

Then I wonder how the people who can’t work feel, are they annoyed, are they happy they get money for nothing, (sitting at home), I’m not about to say that is key workers deserve a raise, but we deserve something for selflessly putting ourselves in the firing line day in day out, and we do that without the notion of wanting thanks, we do it because it’s our job, and we have a duty of care for the people we support. But then we get the clap on Thursday nights at 8pm, (well the NHS and key workers do) how long before this gets old and boring and no longer even exists. Because it will soon become null and void, like most things.

So this is my first post and no doubt I will add more every couple of days, or now and again when I have more topics to write about, I am sure however, this isn’t over and I will be back to write more and put my 2 cents in again very soon.

Bye for now.

Please please adhere to the governments guidelines and stay safe everyone.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.