Longevity logo

My Invisible Disability

I'm not lazy, I'm broken

By Chris LeighPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Invisible Disabilities are still disabilities!

Hi! My name is Chris and I have an invisible disability! When I was 12 years old I was in school, and I made my way down some bleachers when I found that I couldn't move. I collapsed and everyone laughed, I was mortified. I found that it happened every day since then, and it was worse every time. I thought, "It's in my head, I'm fine." So, I kept it a secret from my family, until I was fifteen.

When I had started having it happen 10 times a day, and it was stronger. Back then it only happened when I did something physical, like going up stairs or standing. I finally told my family and they didn't believe me. They took me to the doctor, who then directed me to a neurologist. I participated in an E.E.G. in which they monitored my brainwaves. They found nothing and sent me home, but I knew something was up. So, I fought and fought for years, until I was 17 and about to go into my junior year. They'd thought it was mental, and sent me to Psychiatrist after Psychiatrist. Finally, I demanded another neurologist and he did a three day long E.E.G. In which I had 60 instances of these episodes.

I went to the doctor afterwards for a follow-up. I was excited to see what was wrong, and he'd found nothing. I was devastated, but all was not lost! He told me this wasn't uncommon, and not all seizures show up on a scan. I was experiencing something called Simple Partial seizures, which has recently been renamed Focal Aware Seizures by the epilepsy foundation, and I was put on heavy medications.

My seizures stopped, but the medicine changed me; it made me angry, mean, hateful, and generally terrible. I hated it, and so I stopped taking my medication. Doing this meant it was my fault I had seizures and my family would get angry at me, scream at me, and berate me for not taking them. I felt I had to take them, but I don't.

I've lost two jobs and failed high school because of my seizures. There are discrimination laws, but they haven't helped me. I applied for disability and they have only denied me. I'm 19, and I'm stuck living with my grandparents, I have 45 seizures a day on average now, and I'm on the hunt for jobs.

Honestly, I'm scared. I can't drive, I can't hold a job, I can't live alone, and I can't be a person. I had a seizure and fell down a flight of stairs yesterday, and I was screamed at because it was my fault for not taking my meds. I nearly broke my neck and leg. I just want to be considered a person, but when people look at me they see a lazy kid who doesn't want to work. They can't seem my disability because I'm not in a wheelchair. Then when they learn of my seizures, I'm immediately a child and I can't take care of myself, and I need to be supervised. I can't be my own man, I can't be anything other than lazy and worthless, or a hopeless invalid that has seizures.

mental healthpsychology
Like

About the Creator

Chris Leigh

Hi! I'm Chris, I have seizures, and I'm 19. I've had funny things and bad things happen. I'm here to share them all!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.