Longevity logo

My Heroic Wife

She brought out the best in me

By Hobbies • Skills • Talents • Passion • ProfessionPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

My wife who is a Pharmacist & Pharmacy Manager of her company workplace has been one of the companies out there that are open during this horrific time. She is truly an inspiration due to the fact she can get exposed to this virus that has been going around for quite some time now and yet she still choose to work despite how she can get exposure from other people who could potentially be sick and aren't following social distancing or lock-down rules. I'm thankful for all her hard work, to all the other healthcare heroes and workers of other industries who are doing everything they can to save lives while they are at risk of getting infected. I'm hoping and praying for this nightmare to end so everybody can go back to pursuing their past normal lives. My wife is about 5 months pregnant and her appointments have been getting delayed due to the circumstances we're currently in. She's expected to deliver around late August or early September 2020 of this year.

My wife has always inspired me since the day we first met when I used to work as a Pharmacy Technician in my early 20's. She's only a year older than me but she had accomplished a lot in her life because she skipped 2 grades back in elementary school and she already got her Doctorate Degree (PharmD) in her early 20's when I was still trying to get my life together. I'm glad that I met someone like her because she taught me that anything is possible for a hungry heart who is willing to do whatever it takes to learn and get better at things we are passionate of. I believe this to be true when I finally decided to go back to school in 2017 to pursue my Bachelor's Degree in Multimedia Design/Graphics (with a little Web Design background) and I'm finally graduating this June 2020 with a 3.6 GPA! On top of that, we're about to have our first baby and we're excited to find out what gender it is as long as her appointment doesn't get delayed again.

At least, by the time our first child is born the only things we would worry about is raising that kid to be a decent human being. All I know is that kid wont make the same mistake I did when I was a youngster because when I was a young boy I didn't care about my diet and physical activity and learned the hard way from my own poor life choices later on. Heck, I didn't really care about school back then until after high school when life opened my eyes to what can be done for self-improvement. My wife is a perfect example who can exceed anyone's expectation. I'm kind of like this too when it comes to some of the things I love to do in life such as playing video games, poker, being creative, fitness & nutrition and growing/foraging many different kinds of mushroom. I've realized later on that the grades we get from school is truly a reflection of the time/effort we put into our studies. Whether it's in kindergarten, elementary, middle school, high school, college and so on... It's the action that counts and the amount of practice and research we put into anything which has the potential to show incredible results/progress once we apply it and put it to good use.

I have learned how to grow/forage mushroom and lose weight/gain muscle from self-studying with the help of experts in the fields of fitness and mycology. I've been working on my physical/mental well-being since 2014 and with mushrooms since 2012. I believe these 2 hobbies are a very critical part of human lives because mushrooms is good source of carbohydrates, protein and vitamin D. Some species may even help fight flu viruses or other infectious diseases and other ones may hold the answer to our mental health problems as well. On the other hand, both fitness activities & nutrition go hand by hand because what we eat should always be based on the activities we're going to be doing so we can achieve maximum results/progress on our physique. I simply learned this from other people examples and years of experience. I used to be 200 lbs and by simply working out regularly while reducing my calorie intake to right about 1,500-1,800 kilo calories I've managed to lose over 50 lbs in within 6 months. Since then, I've been doing my best to set examples and exceed expectations in the field of fitness/nutrition and mycology to become a good role model to others seeking guidance and knowledge.

This is also why I've chosen to study Multimedia Design/Graphics so I can use my creative passion to teach, influence and inspire those who may be seeking self-improvement in other areas of their lives. Everyone has a hobby or two, interests or skills that we may be consistently improving on and that's good. You never know where that could lead to. I didn't think that I'll ever become a professional in the creative field because when I was a kid I used to love to draw Dragonball Z Characters without any idea on what 2D or 3D even means. I was also a curious kid growing up because I always wondered why mushrooms would grow a few days after the rain. Curiosity and enthusiasm are the two important key words that must come to mind whenever we want to decide on what to pursue next. So far, I've been pretty curious on how to create beats/remixing/freestyle rapping/writing lyrics for rap or a parody song and have been using Youtube/Google to learn on the net; who knows where this could lead. Never stop being inspired and you shall inspire others around you. Keep doing what you love to do and you never know where that'll take you. We sometimes just have to believe and have confidence in ourselves without worrying about what other people say or may be thinking. We just have to listen to our heart and hope that our dreams come true.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Hobbies • Skills • Talents • Passion • Profession

I'm currently a Multimedia Media Design/Graphics & Web Alumni of Devry University, fitness/health enthusiast, mushroom cultivator/forager, gamer since 5yrs old. Born: 12/23/1992, Married: 06/23/18 & a Father

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.