Longevity logo

My Hair Color Journey: From Blonde to Brunette and Back Again

Jason Jones

By Wellness WonderPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have always been fascinated by hair color and how it can change your appearance, mood, and personality. I have experimented with different hair colors since I was a teenager, but I never really understood the science behind it until recently. In this article, I will share my personal hair color journey and how I learned about the hair growth cycle and red light therapy.

I was born with blonde hair, which I inherited from my mother. She always told me that blondes have more fun, and I believed her. I loved my blonde hair and how it made me stand out from the crowd. I felt confident, cheerful, and adventurous with my blonde hair.

However, as I grew older, I noticed that my hair color started to change slightly. It became darker and duller, especially in the winter. I wondered why this was happening and what I could do to prevent it. I did some research and learned that hair color is influenced by many factors, such as sunlight, hormones, nutrition, and stress. These factors can affect the production of melanin, the pigment that gives hair its natural color.

Melanin is produced by specialized cells called melanocytes, which are located at the base of each hair follicle. Melanin comes in two types: eumelanin and pheomelanin. Eumelanin is responsible for black and brown hair colors, while pheomelanin is responsible for red and yellow hair colors. The ratio and amount of these two types of melanin determine your natural hair color.

I also learned that hair color changes depending on the stage of the hair growth cycle. The hair growth cycle consists of four main stages: anagen, catagen, telogen, and exogen. Each stage has a different effect on the color and texture of your hair.

The anagen phase is the longest and most active stage of the hair growth cycle. It lasts for about 3 to 5 years on average, but it can vary from person to person. During this phase, your hair follicles produce new hair cells that push out the old ones, resulting in continuous growth. The anagen phase is also when your hair color is most influenced by external factors, such as sunlight, hormones, nutrition, and stress.

The catagen phase is a short transitional stage that signals the end of the anagen phase. It lasts for about 10 days on average. During this phase, your hair follicles shrink and detach from the blood supply that nourishes them. Your hair stops growing and enters a resting state.

The telogen phase is a resting period that lasts for about 3 months on average. During this phase, about 10 to 15 percent of your hairs are in a dormant state and do not grow or change color.

The exogen phase is when old hairs are shed from the scalp. This happens naturally as part of the normal hair growth cycle and does not indicate a problem unless you lose more than 100 hairs per day.

I realized that my hair color was getting darker because of the decrease in melanin production during the anagen phase. This could be due to several reasons, such as less exposure to sunlight in the winter, hormonal changes as I aged, nutritional deficiencies or imbalances, or increased stress levels.

I decided to try some natural remedies to boost my melanin production and restore my blonde hair color. I increased my intake of foods rich in copper, zinc, iron, vitamin B12, folic acid, biotin, and vitamin C, which are essential for melanin synthesis and stability. I also reduced my stress levels by practicing yoga, meditation, and breathing exercises.

However, these methods did not seem to have much effect on my hair color. I still felt that my blonde hair was fading away and becoming more brownish. I wanted to find a more effective solution that could stimulate my hair growth and improve my hair quality.

That’s when I discovered red light therapy, pros and cons of red light therapy can be found online very easily. Red light therapy is a safe and effective treatment that can stimulate hair growth and improve hair quality by exposing your scalp to low-level red or near-infrared light. The light can penetrate the skin and reach the hair follicles, where it can stimulate the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), which is the energy source for cellular activities. ATP can increase the activity of hair follicles and prolong the anagen phase of the hair growth cycle. This can result in thicker, longer, and healthier hair.

Red light therapy can also increase blood flow and oxygen delivery to the scalp, which can nourish the hair follicles and promote hair growth. Red light therapy can also reduce inflammation and oxidative stress, which can damage the hair follicles and cause hair loss.

I was intrigued by the benefits of the best red light therapy device and decided to give it a try. I bought a red light therapy cap online, which is a device that fits over your head and emits red or near-infrared light to your scalp. I followed the instructions of the device and wore it for 15 minutes a day, three times a week.

After a few weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed some positive changes in my hair. My hair felt softer, smoother, and shinier. It also looked fuller, thicker, and more voluminous. But the most amazing thing was that my hair color started to lighten up. I could see some blonde strands emerging from my brownish hair. I was thrilled by the results and continued to use the red light therapy cap regularly.

After a few months of using the red light therapy cap, I was amazed by the transformation of my hair. My hair had grown significantly longer and stronger. It also had regained its original blonde color, which made me feel more youthful and vibrant. I felt like I had found the fountain of youth for my hair.

Thank you for reading my article and I hope you enjoyed it. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to leave them below. I would love to hear from you and your own hair color journey. Have a great day!

self caremental healthhealth
Like

About the Creator

Wellness Wonder

Be simple, and keep being curious about the real essence of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.