Longevity logo

Mottos

What Do You Live By?

By EmPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

We've all got some motto we live by — a few words that keep us going every day. I've been recently thinking about all the mottos I follow on a day-to-day basis ever since I watched Sam Golbach's "Onward and Upward" video (I'll link it down below).

In the video Sam explains where the quote comes from. He explained that during his high school years, his grandmother had a very excruciating battle with cancer, but she never let it get in the way of her happiness. In a way, she was thankful. She was able to see all her family members and friends, many of which she hasn't seen in years.

**Already, I started thinking, "when Máma (my grandmother) was battling cancer, she always had a smile on her face." It was weird. They were going through this pain, they were slowly losing the battle, but they always had a smile on their face; they never let it defeat them. They were thankful, thankful that they were able to see their family and friends. They had hope that they would pull through, even when it seemed futile. They never gave up on themselves, and their family never gave up on them.**

He then goes on to say that in these moments his grandmother always told him "Onwards and Upwards." Clearly, at first he didn't understand what she meant, or why she was always smiling. He didn't understand what there was to be happy about, especially since it was one of his lowest times in life. However, as years passed by, Sam finally understood it, and then he and Colby Brock, his best friend and frequent collaborator (I will also link both their channels and their collab channel) have used this motto to get them through the day and through any rut they may encounter.

Also, because of their life experiences, they decided to create The Life Project, where they hope to help and inspire others through any tough time they may be going through.

Here are three mottos that I use:

  1. PROVE THEM WRONG: There's always going to be someone telling you you can't do something. Sometimes it'll even be yourself but you can't listen to them. Get up and prove them wrong. Prove to them that you CAN and WILL do it. Prove to them you are driven, that you won't let anything get in your way. The only person who you have to convince is yourself. As long as you block out all the negativity and you focus on the positivity you'll go far, and who knows, maybe you'll see them when they wash your car. This one goes hand in hand with "I CAN AND I WILL" — another motto I live by. I am so persistent that I refuse to fall down and stay on the ground. I pick myself back up and shake off whatever made me fall. I can and I will get through anything and everything that comes my way, and I'm sure you will, too.
  2. IN THE END, WE ONLY REGRET THE CHANCES WE DIDN'T TAKE:I think we all kind of live by this. We all want to do things so that later on in life we don't regret it. Some people I know say they regret not going to college. They regret not having that experience or the degree they've always wanted. I think we should all live by this. Do things out of our comfort zones, and do things that we never thought we would (as long as they aren't illegal). I always tell my best friends and my boyfriend "I want to go exploring!" I want to explore abandoned places, drive to and through places late at night, etc. I want to live the life I've always dreamed of. I want to travel the world. I want to better myself through these experiences. Don't take life for granted, guys, because one day you'll be old and thinking about life and you're going to wish you did more.
  3. WHEN IT RAINS, LOOK FOR RAINBOWS. WHEN IT'S DARK, LOOK FOR STARS: I think this one is pretty straightforward. When you're in a tough situation, look at the bright side of things. Look at everything through a bigger perspective. Don't have tunnel vision. You may be going through a dark time, but remember that one day you'll be thinking "damn, I got through that" or "damn, that wasn't as bad as I thought." This quote goes hand in hand with "You've gotten through situations you never thought you could, and you'll do it again." Just keep your head high, guys! Life is never as bad as we may think it is.

Email me your motto: [email protected]

advice
Like

About the Creator

Em

I'm doing my best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.