Longevity logo

Migraines and My Life

Living with Migraines

By Lakeyia LPublished 7 years ago 3 min read

Chronic Migraines are not just another headache that will go away in a few minutes or hours. Some of us can't even take over the counter medications. I have to take prescribed medications for my migraines because I tried everything and living with them is hard for me and my family.

No Sympathy

When it comes to having migraines, I am not looking for sympathy, I am looking to spread awareness to others that may have the same issue or know someone that does. You can get a CT scan and nothing might not even show up so in many cases you have these migraines and don't know where they are coming from. This is my case actually. I have migraines and I don't even know where they are coming from at the moment. All I get is there is nothing that they can do about it so I just take my medication and deal.

I have not given up on myself but I can't keep going through the same thing over and over spending money that I don't have because in reality there is nothing that they can do.

Pushing Through

Pushing through the pain and the hurt is all I can do when it comes to getting migraines. They are part of my life and have been since I was like 22 years old and I am now 28. Yes, there are days I can't deal with the pain because it is just too much but I get up and make sure my kids eat, take baths, and get to school on time. I am trying not to let this illness consume me because if I let the migraines win then I might as well give up and just die you know. I have faith that things will come together and so far I am going to keep holding on no matter what happens.

Hard to Explain

Yes, it is hard to explain the migraines and how they feel when the person or persons you talk to have not experienced them. I have two kids and I am married, which is a huge thing because I have to explain to my boys why mommy is laying down so much or why I am crying. I find it hard to explain to my husband because he has never experienced them so in many cases he does not know how they feel and what it is like to have blurred vision, throbbing on the left side of your head, and many other symptoms that I really don't like. I hate having nausea and stomach issues but I am very happy to be able to be a stay at home mom for the time being because no one would understand but I am ready to work and get back out there.

I just want to say that just because some of us have this does not mean we can't work or do certain things. Yes, after awhile it may become crippling, but if you can work and get things done then I say do it while you can.

Being a Mommy with Chronic Migraines

Yes, I am a mommy and wife with migraines, but I make sure that my boys get everything that they need. I am always willing to help them with their homework, read to them, play with them, and even take them for walks. I am not someone that sits around and does nothing but it is hard when you are in a lot of pain. I try to push through everything so that I can be the best mom that I can be. I get breaks when my husband is home but at times I just want to try and get myself together so that I can do everything without having a lot of help or felling helpless.

I do laundry, wash dishes, mop, and cut the grass on weekends. I am very active and happy that I am trying. Yes, I do have my days just like any other person with chronic migraines.

Final Thoughts

I am happy to share this with everyone and I am here to spread awareness so that many people can know what chronic migraines are all about. I am not looking for sympathy or anything like that but I am looking for people to understand this is real and many people hurt from this even if it is not seen.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and God bless.

health

About the Creator

Lakeyia L

I love to write, color, sing, and doing crochet. I am always writing something fun and exciting when it comes to all kinds of genres. I am working on my first Novel so that I can publish soon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lakeyia LWritten by Lakeyia L

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.