Longevity logo

Life after a Splenectomy

My Sequential Five

By Marilyn GloverPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1
Life after a Splenectomy
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

On February 3, 2020 I had a complete splenectomy. My symptoms began in the prior month as mild intermittent pain on my left side. I did not think much of this at first. I was very physically active with two jobs, one as an innkeeper; the other cleaning for my own private clients. In addition to regular daily exercise, it was not uncommon for me to have body aches. I was very active. Over the course of about a week, however, I began experiencing discomfort with breathing and my side pain escalated to the point of me making an emergency room visit. I was hospitalized after a dye contrast MRI found a 5 centimeter cyst on my much enlarged spleen. The normal size is that of about a human fist. Mine was twice that size and I actually felt very full across my entire abdominal area. The next couple of days in the hospital were for observation while I had a complete blood workup, as well as a bone marrow biopsy. There were no significant findings except that I was severely anemic, something that had been an issue much of my adult life. It was decided that a splenectomy would be best so I was given a series of vaccines that are necessary two weeks before the operation and sent home to rest until the procedure.

My surgery was a success and the biopsy of my spleen was clean for cancer. The final diagnosis was Littoral Cell Angioma (LCA), a benign vascular tumor. This is a pretty rare condition and the treatment is indeed, the removal of the spleen. An interesting fact: since my procedure my iron levels are the highest they have ever been, supporting a theory, linking LCA with low platelet levels. I went home from the hospital with 5 abdominal incisions. I had a procedure called hand assist laparoscopy which left me with a 3 inch vertical incision above the belly button, followed by 4 other minor ones. I had the lesser of the 2 evils as far as surgical procedures are concerned. The small incision at the top of my stomach marked where my abdomen would have been opened up to if my surgeon was unable to remove my spleen intact through the previous method. This would have doubled the length of the original incision.

I was released from the hospital on February 5th and the road to healing began. The next several months were set to be nothing short of a momentous eye opener for me. This is when the reality of my situation really began to kick in. For anyone unfamiliar, following abdominal surgery is a mandatory sedentary process. This means no lifting, bending, pushing, pulling; just rest. Sleeping meant lying flat on my back; not exactly comfy and the after effects of anesthesia left me kind of loopy for a couple of weeks. I was already taken out of work temporarily to heal then I got news that the inn I was employed at for the last 5 years had a fire. The doors would never re open. To top it all off, the corona virus was in full swing and my stress levels began to accelerate. I just had surgery which left me immunocompromised. The spleen filters the blood but it also helps ward off certain types of infections. With too many unknown factors regarding the virus, I also was put into isolation by my doctors. Present day, I am still in isolation.

My day of awakening came one morning while in bed. I was using my spirometer (a device used after surgery to keep the lungs active) and breathing in the mouthpiece; a thought came to me. It felt great to move the yellow piston up the spirometer to the blue outlined area. Each slow deep breathe followed by holding for several seconds was a pure cleansing feeling. Each time I accomplished the goal of the blue region I felt more at ease. This is when I began engaging in meditation again. It had been months. After this first session I looked at my abdominal incisions. I smiled because this gave me another idea. I had 5 incisions which would become 5 scars. I took note of the thought that their sight did not bother me. In fact despite the fact that I had all these setbacks, I wanted each mark to represent something important to me. I knew this was exactly how I would regain my momentum; be active again. Hence, this is when my “Sequential 5 process began.” The first small scar on my left side would become “Deep breathing” representing the calming cleanse.

Scar number two, became “Accept help from others.” This was especially difficult for me since I always liked to do things for myself. I was employed as a hospitality professional for years, happily serving others. One of my favorite aspects of this field was making people happy and I had no issue going the extra mile. In addition, I raised 4 children as a single mom. Putting me last was my common rule of thumb but again, no complaints. I considered myself to be very independent and as a backbone to others, both personally and professionally. After my surgery I had to accept help from family. My adult children would do the errands, grocery shopping, lifting, etc. I also had to swallow my pride and transition from working to collecting disability. For me, this was the most difficult step to embrace.

On my right side is scarring number 3, “broadening perspective.” Even before my splenectomy, I had contemplated a career change. After nearly 20 years in hospitality I wanted to explore a hobby I had as a potential transition. My parents urged me to consider a different career path prior to my surgery. At 48 I am certainly not old, but my extremely physical job may take its toll down the line. I began writing regularly while recuperating; rediscovering my joy for poetry. Not long after I found Vocal Media in a google search; here I am today. My goals include future publication and to explore where my imagination can take me.

On to scar number 4, this is the tiny one at the top of my stomach. I call this “slowly recondition.” After being a physically active person my entire life, it was disheartening not to be able to run up and down stairs, do yoga or even go for a brisk walk. I had to deal with baby steps. I began with the simple pelvic tilt exercise done by post-partum women. I began this at about 10 weeks post-surgery. From here I slowly incorporated stretching and simple yoga poses such as downward dog. I found that my flexibility was much better than I anticipated. My abdominal region was weak and the deeper tissue healing is a process I am still going through. Part of my reconditioning involves wound care. I regularly massage cold pressed coconut oil and aloe to the scars. I find that this daily routine has helped soften the hard core of my major incision; preventing keloid tissue.

Last but by far certainly not least, is my largest scar, number 5. I call this “Embracing change.” Life is all about cycles and change. It’s a simple fact: we cannot control everything! My medical crisis came on very quickly. I may have had this tumor for years but without symptoms. All I know is that I needed this surgery. Although my recovery has taken some time, my general overall health is good. I have accepted that this is just a phase in my life and that I am on to better things. I find it funny too that I have 5 scars. The number 5 means change, life lessons learned from experience, adaptability, progress, release and surrender, health and healing. This puts a smile on my face as I wake to each new day. My Sequential Five, my 5 scars, my personal inhale/exhale.

body
1

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.