Longevity logo

Karate Nationals 2024

In training

By Johann HollarPublished 5 days ago 5 min read
https://ncr-aakf.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/AAKF-Championships-Poster-2024-FINAL-PDF_page-0001-1-600x776.jpg

On June 22, 2024, the 61st American Amateur Karate Federation (AAKF) National Championships and International Camp was held in Bloomington, Minnesota.

Yours truly attended such an event.

In preparation I did some of the following:

1) I did not consume alcohol as much as I used to after Sunday March 17, 2024 (except for this one Thursday after that where I drank a bit of sweet red wine as means of a taste test before my mom put it in with the dinner that night).

2) I gave up on buying sweets at the end of May. As for having them, I only took advantage of eating three doughnuts at work a week and day away from the National's, but they were free of course.

3) I have spent more time drinking tea, both hot and cold.

4) When I finished the occasional Saturday class of Karate, I would often go to Mississippi Market on East 7th and have whatever vegetable soups they served and add some Oyster Crackers.

5) When it comes to my work shifts at Target, I do take breaks.

As for any other healthy practices, I of course have made sure that meals are rich in protein and the drinks are sugar-free.

Schedule and Routine

Day 1: 5/27/24

I emptied the rain barrel into the compost, carrying the bucket full of water in my left hand. Once the water level in the rain barrel was low, I carried the barrel over to the compost and tipped it to empty the remaining water. After that I took a a shovel and then mixed up the compost.

When that was done, I emptied some heavy pots for planting and then brought them upstairs and outside.

Day 2: 5/28/24

Helped mov a kiln at Cheers Pablo in Woodbury.

Walked to the nearby Barnes and Noble (approximately 10 mins)

Day 3: 5/29/24

Worked the Inbound shift from 4am to 12:30 pm

Truck unload time was approximately 2 hours 29 min.

Went to Karate at 5pm. Did all the Heians, Tekki Shodan and Bassai Dai. Did a punching routine involving 6 pens.

Mowed the front lawn.

Day 4: 5/30/24

Spent 4 hours helping move stuff at Cheers Pablo. Hardest part was the multiple shelves that if carried the wrong way would have broken.

Day 5: 5/31/24

Inbound shift 4am to 12:30 pm

Truck unload time was 1 hour 50 min.

At Suburban Avenue Aldi's I walked to the nearest US Bank and then back to Aldi's.

Day 6: 6/1/24

Karate at 10am. Did Heians 2-5, Tekki Shodan, Bassai Dai and something called Kitte/Jitte?

Later I did 5 minutes of Horse Stance or Kiba-dachi stance as they also call it.

Day 7: 6/2/24

Moved the back lawn

Put together the hammock.

Emptied the rain and mixed up the compost with a pitchfork.

Day 8: 6/3/24

Karate 5pm. Simple combinations followed by Heian Yondan, Godan and Tekki Shodan.

Day 9: 6/4/24

Rested

Day 10: 6/5/24

Inbound shift 4am to 12:30 pm.

Truck unload time was 1 hour 52 minutes.

Karate at 5pm. Simple combinations, techniques then Heian Yondan and Godan.

Day 11: 6/6/24

Rested

Day 12: 6/7/24

Inbound shift 4am to 12:30 pm

Truck unload time was 1 hour 53 minutes

Unloaded four flatbeds of beverages

Day 13: 6/8/24

Karate 10am

Day 14: 6/9/24

Walked 3 times around with jugs filled with water.

Balanced myself 3 times on a set of bricks.

Trimmed the trees with long chopper.

Unloaded rain barrel into compost and then mixed it up with a pitchfork.

Mom wasn't feeling too well and couldn't make dinner. So, I walked to the Cherry pit to have dinner (baby back ribs with fries and Texas toast, no booze) then walked back.

Day 15: 6/10/24

Walked from Suburban Ave US Bank to Sun Ray Library.

Karate 5pm. Sensei Wong corrected me on punches for the Nationals.

Day 16: 6/11/24

Rested.

Day 17: 6/12/24

Inbound Shift 4 am to 12:30 pm

Stocked/Back stocked pet food for approximately 3 hours and 2 minutes (how can you not expect kitty litter and bags of dog food can be heavy?)

Day 18: 6/13/24

Was at Suburban Ave. Walked to Aldi's, US Bank and then Back to Aldi's

Day 19: 6/14/24

Inbound Shift 4 am to 12:30 pm

Truck unload time was 1 hour and 59 minutes (approximately)

Spent the whole shift stocking/back stocking beverages (yes, they can be heavy and no, it is not booze.)

Day 20: 6/15/24

Karate 10 am

Day 21: 6/16/24

Helped my sister load a refrigerator into car (the kind you would have in a college dorm room).

Lifted a 35lbs plate several times within an hour.

Day 22: 6/17/24

Karate 5 pm.

Day 23: 6/18/24

Rested.

Day 24: 6/19/24

There was no truck that day at work, but there was still stuff to do. With that being said I stocked/back stocked pets for approximately 1 hour and 59 Minutes.

Karate 5 pm. Last day to do Karate that week before the National's.

Day 25: 6/20/24

Practiced Heian Yondan 5 times (the technique I was expected to perform at the Nationals).

Ripped apart some boxes with my bare hands.

Day 26: 6/21/24

Inbound Shift 4 am to 12:30 pm.

Truck Unload time was approximately 1 hour and 47 minutes.

Spent the entire work shift stocking/back stocking beverages.

Day 27: 6/22/24

Nationals!!!!!!!!!!!

Results

I may not have won any medals that day, but I am aware that many of you recognize that I gave it my all, a sentiment echoed by my peers. As I prepared to depart, one of the leaders from the American Amateur Karate Federation (AAKF) gave me some advice by just telling me to relax. I felt honored and accepted his advice while addressing him as Sensei.

The fact that Nationals is never held in the same place every year is one of the reasons I attended. Then of course there is the fact that until 2021 I never participated in any martial arts competitions whatsoever and there will be a time when I may not be able to compete anymore. Finally, like Rocky Balboa, I wanted to go the distance.

I think in the end that even though I did not win any medals at the National's, what matters is that I was able to attend the event itself and even in the days leading up, I was able to create my own workout routine to help prep me for it, something I will do from now on before anymore competitions or my next belt examination.

I hope you learned something from reading this, just as I have learned something from writing about this.

healthathletics

About the Creator

Johann Hollar

I had attended Minnesota State University Mankato where I received my Bachelors in History with a Minor in Philosophy. I currently work at the Woodbury Village Target as a Stocker when I am not writing you all such interesting stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Johann HollarWritten by Johann Hollar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.