Longevity logo

The Athletic Way

My thoughts on eating healthy and working out.

By Johann HollarPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
clipart-library.com

Even since I watched the anime and read the manga One Punch Man, I have been constantly finding new ways to stay healthy, and it has worked.

This post is the sharing of my thoughts.

darebee.com

At first, I pursued my own workout programs that involved four sets of twenty-five push-ups Same thing in squats and throwing punches. It was a start, but nothing like the image above. After doing these I moved onto...

Lifting Dumbbells

I was reluctant to buy these at first, but I needed to advance my staying in shape. So, I bought two sets of twenty-pound dumbbells and I lift them every so often. I say every so often because...

I Began Hitting the Gym

oaheymca.org

That's right, I recently bought a membership at the Maplewood YMCA (this is not a picture of the place mind you).

The place has an indoor track overlooking two basketball courts, a studio, and the workout area. Next to the track is a series of treadmills and bike machines that either overlooks the parking lot outdoors or the indoor swimming pool.

Anyway, I do a series of laps either working or jogging for about forty or so minutes, then I sometimes would shoot hoops on the basketball courts. I have recently been working on my abs and pecs, then I move on to my arms with the barbells.

I lifted one that weighed fifty pounds with the bicep curls. I then moved onto the one with weighted plates, putting twenty-five pounds on each side, along with two-point-five pounds on and then performed the Standing Military Press to about twenty-five seconds. I could do more, but I'd rather do squats with them.

Light Workouts

d2ebzu6go672f3.cloudfront.net

I know you know that not all workouts have to be hard. For me, the simpler ones range from mowing the lawn by hand to shoveling dirt into black bags for the plants back home. These are simple workouts for me.

Another simple workout for me is strapping on my three-pound weighted gloves and throwing a series of punches. Sometimes I add five-pound ankle weights and I lift my knees and do some low and high kicks with them.

Healthy Eating and Drinking

www.heart.org

I used to eat only a bowl of cereal with a cup of coffee. It did not really fill me up, it would have lasted me only two hours. So I changed my eating habits.

I found out earlier this year that we (I am living with more people) own an omelet maker. Along with three large eggs, I would put in some shredded cheese, crushed red pepper flakes, chopped up some hot dogs and then put in some spinach. It was rather filling.

Then I got a Microwave Egg cooker that made eggs like mini-omelets. This concoction I use on bagels with salami, a slice of cheese and some chipolata-mayo spread on the bagel.

In the egg, I put some sea-salt, hot chipolata powder, shredded cheese (my favorite being Swiss) and recently some onions. I have spinach, but I need to pick it from my garden. I also like to put in minced garlic.

As for the drinking part, I drinking primarily water, milk and coffee. I do have the occasional protein shake by taking a powder and mixing into water.

The Martial Arts

www.wikihow.com

About 20 years earlier I started taking Karate. Best decision I ever made. Before the school closed, I was a Brown Belt. I then moved on to two different types of Kung-fu, a bit of Judo and Aikido, along with Renaissance-style fencing and Olympic style fencing. I have recently been teaching myself a bit of Boxing, and I have been wanting to take Kickboxing at the YMCA.

Taking up the Martial Arts may not make you Don Wilson, and you may not want to be the next Don Wilson, but when I took up the Martial Arts, I was 16 at the time and I really wanted to keep productive during my summers off from school.

Sure, I did sports during my school days, but that was only three seasons out of the year. So while I was doing Adaptive Athletics Floor Soccer and Hockey, along with Track and Field, I also was still able to do Karate.

If it was not for Karate, I probably would have had a criminal record and maybe even a drinking/drug problem.

Today, I practice these styles of combat or shadow-boxing as a means of working out when I am not at the YMCA.

The workouts you do don't matter to me. These are how I do my workouts and what I eat health-wise. Whatever methods you have for staying healthy, please share them with me and a tip.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Johann Hollar

I had attended Minnesota State University Mankato where I received my Bachelors in History with a Minor in Philosophy. I currently work at the Woodbury Village Target as a Stocker when I am not writing you all such interesting stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.