Longevity logo

It's Funny because,

I was just minding my own, business...

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was standing, in a line up, at the doctors, office. I was talking to a woman who had just charged her way up, a herculean flight of stairs, and was now huffing and puffing, anxiously trying to regain her breath. I stared at her, for a moment, and then spoke, in friendly, yet cheerful, tone, exclaiming,

"Asthma, huh? " She nodded and gestured to the opening, where just beyond the line-up, you could see the corner of the, receptionists', desk.

A light oak-finished, island, from where, behind it, a blond, pale, woman, sat.

"Yeah, I do. It's a bitch isn't? I take Advair, sometimes, Ventolin. Do you?"

I patted, my bag, and replied. "Always, boo."

And as, this woman, whom I was conversing with, positioned herself, behind me in the line-up, we began to talk about how the government, health mandate, to wear masks, affects our health. Even though we're told, it's meant to protect it.

And suddenly, a Caucasian-woman, with, washed out, blue, color-damaged, short, hair, lashed out, insulted me, saying,

" Oh, I didn't know, we had an enemy of, Donald Trump, in the line up. Who the fuck are you, to tell people not to wear masks? You people, are always causing trouble."

I instantly, began to feel, the anger, and sadness, well-up, in my eyes and radiate through my brain, blood, veins, heart and eventually, down my limbs, to my fingers, as I began to clench my fists, digging, my trimmed, fingernails and the pads, of my fingers, firmly into the skin, on the palms, of my hands. Almost, as if to, bare down, on my patience. Press, like the breaks, of a car, when you've come too close to the rear of another car, in front, stopped at some imaginary light, at some, non-existent cross walk, on some wide, open road... with no lanes. I was grinding down on my bubbling, emotions, like breaks, as if trying to avoid, some, inevitable, collision.

And, I responded, to this woman, saying, "Now, why would you say something like that, to me? Especially, when you don't even, know me. Answer me!" The Caucasian-woman, with her color-damaged, short, hair, continued to insult me. And at once, my lady-like demeanor, left me. An inure, response, took it's place, along with a grim expression, on my face.

"You're unwise to speak to me this way, in this place."

To which, this bleached out, blathering, idiot, replied, "I'm not afraid of your kind, in any way."

And, a ghetto, school-yard, version of me, instantly, took my spirit's, place.

I pegged her down to a decimal point, directly, to her face. I heckled and ripped, at her tough-girl, facade, and marched on her ego, like a heard of elephants, down a town-fair, promenade.

I ravaged her false, sense of bravado...

and decimated, her trash-bag personae..

I asked, this Caucasian-woman, for an apology and admit, that she own up, to the fact that, she, was wrong to approach, my feelings, so carelessly. And furthermore, disrespect me.

Of course, in that moment, a blond haired woman, from the office-door, opening, emerged, and spoke up.

Unexpectedly, the receptionist, began calling me the villain, ordering me, to "Call it quits." Lest she call the police, and looked at me, like a leaper, or someone infected, with the COVID disease.

And in my frustration, with their refusal to hear my pleas, I said,"Go the fuck ahead. I'm a law abiding, citizen, sweetie! I'd re-think your approach, in how you speak to me. I mean, think of all the shit you'd be in, if I reported, this, sweetie. All I did, was stand in a line-up, and engage, in an enlightening conversation, with the woman behind me, when this Caucasian-woman, in her bleached-out, blue, hair, had to go and," 'take it there'." And you're saying, 'I am wrong, and should get out of this line.'

Are you saying that what she did, to me, was fine?"

And, at once, the doctor, in the office, at the back, emerged. And he introduced himself, as Dr. So-and-So, and offered to put me, "at the head of the line, and with a smile, asked, "if I was fine."

It's funny, because this shit, happens to me, all the time.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.