Longevity logo

Is the Sting that bad?!

Looking into what a Scorpio is and the traits that follow.

By Willow PeddyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2

Scorpio

Scorpio is the eighth astrological sign within the zodiac with Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Under the tropical zodiac, the Sun transits this sign on average is from October 23rd to November 21st.

What's in the Sign you may ask?

To say that I'm a little complicated and somewhat difficult to understand is probably a great understatement. Which, if you read carrying on reading about it, you may begin to understand.

We'll begin with the elements

When it comes to the elements, my zodiac sign is a sign of water. I will use this sign as an example of just how misunderstood Scorpios actually are. Most people will think I'm wrong but it's true. Scorpio's are indeed a water sign and not a fire sign. The water sign represents the strength that we obtain through our psychic, emotional realm. It's what makes this water sign unique, it's represented through the distinctive venomous sting that we Scorpio's have hidden deep within. Being a water sign comes with an array of traits and qualities such as being naturally emotional, deep and somewhat reserved, and ever so anxious to help those who are in need around me.

However, astrologers in correlation to the zodiac, say our planetary ruler was Mars. Mars is one of the two Scorpios rulers; It's the planet of combat, aggression energy, action, passion, war, and sex. Or so they say, being able to be positive and dominant under most circumstances. However, if you're looking into Greek mythology, it refers to Pluto as the Lord of the underworld. The planet of death, regeneration, transformation, and everything that's hidden beneath the surface.

So Scorpio's are kind of lucky as we have two ruling planets. But knowing the information above you can see there are great contradictions within the basic Scorpio nature.

Now, in my experience, if you're into all the zodiac signs (Like myself) people become very wary of Scorpios. I never truly understood that, we are all charming people! In most circumstances, I/we appear to be quiet and peaceful, but at the same time I'm we are like a tiny time bomb. Have I mentioned when it comes to defending yourself or in particular other people around you, there is no limit to which we would refuse to go!

Let's look into the why, why Scorpio?

Looking into the name Scorpio our wonderful ancestors done quite a good job with choosing a suitable name, wouldn't you agree. Scorpio obviously refers to and stands for scorpion. A scorpion is diminutive and retiring, they hide in the shadows quite peacefully, not looking for trouble. However, if it is provoked or even attacked it will take on adversaries many times its own size, with its barbed Sting in its tail It won't hesitate to strike without any warnings.

It symbolizes the aggressive intensity of a Scorpio's rage and their self-protective nature, towards themself and others. It shows their desire to "get back at" those who are harm or threaten them. Yet on the flip side, it also illustrates their sexual nature. However, a scorpion's courting and mating can be dangerous and often ends in death...

The Scorpio reputation maybe a little underserved. People look into the aggressive side of Scorpio's and yet we are one of the most compassionate and caring of all the zodiac signs. Scorpios cannot stand the thought of people suffering unjustifiably, which is why many of the great social reformers and even Freedom Fighters had the same zodiac sign as me/us, search people include Christopher Columbus, Pablo Picasso, King Edward VII, Marie Curie, and many, many more.

Today's Horoscope

We all know that every zodiac sign you can relate to in some aspect or another and obviously your horoscope changes daily. Today (26th February 2021) my horoscope is as follows;

" A very important process is underway for you this time of year, Scorpio. You're reconnecting with your passions - the things that bring you joy and the talent you wish to showcase. Friday's skies momentarily direct your attention away from these heart-centered visions, as the full moon in heady Virgo arrives. This lunation illuminates the current state of your goals and relationship to your friends and community."

I read that and I felt myself relating to what it was trying to tell me." A very important process is underway for you at this time of year", yes there is. I am starting a new job and the process is underway, it's happening, I'm starting this weekend because the process of my application has finally gone through.

"You're reconnecting with your passions - the things that bring you joy and the talent you wish to showcase", once again yes with my new job I can pursue one of my Passions. It will bring joy to me and enable me to show my talent in helping people, young children, in my new support worker role. My passion is obviously to help people....that's what I live for but I will also have an opportunity to master sign language which is also a passion of mine.

And then when It refers to the "lunation illuminating the current state of my goals and relationships to my friends and community", once again yes. Yes, I am setting goals for myself with my career in the community, I am arranging to go on holidays with my friends, move out with my partner.

With being born basically in the center of my star sign period, 13th of November ( Oct 23rd-21st), some could say I'm as Scorpio as they get. I am and can be emotional, deep, full of energy, passionate, and only somewhat reserved. I relate to and can be all the good things the traits have to offer but I can also be aggressive, intolerant, revengeful, some of them...maybe more....okay maybe most of the negative ones.

Looking up my specific personality traits

"Scorpio born on 13th of November possess a powerful conscience and a strong desire for personal autonomy. Uniqueness is also important that they may adjust to their opinions and do so deliberately to conflict with others. They have a natural dignity and are humorous spontaneous and often lucky."

Now having a powerful conscience is in another way being strong-minded, strong welded, some could even say stubborn. At some point in time, yes I have been told that I'm stubborn, strong-minded, then this must be true. I always get told that I am unique, different in the way I don't stick the norms in my generation and follow the crowds. I express and embrace my individuality and love the fact that I am indeed an oddball.

I do also express my opinions quite happily and yes I have deliberately done so to cause conflict but that's normally only with the stepmother! With regards to the natural dignity though, I strongly disagree, I'm not graceful enough to wear a dress without potentially flashing somebody so natural dignity, I don't think so!

I would agree on 'humorous', I do crack some awful Dad jokes which I find highly amusing, and being spontaneous check. I love to be spontaneous and doing things unexpectedly. I love living in the moment and creating some memories while I can.

On the other hand, often lucky, I have to agree to disagree with the lucky side of things. I often say that I am the unluckiest person in the world which obviously isn't quite true because I do indeed have lucky spells too...

So you ask do the traits you possess match those of your Zodiac?

I would agree and say yes. I do possess those such traits of my zodiac. I have been brought up by a mother who strongly believes in your signs and the meanings behind them. I would say in a way by already knowing some of the traits growing up has lead me to a self-fulfilling prophecy and making me the individual I am today.

reIf you are like me and you do believe in what your horoscope and what your zodiac sign mean, then you will find a way to relate and believe what is being said or told to you. However, if you're unsure or skeptic, i don't blame you. Reading a prediction about your life, or your emotions can be quite off-putting and daunting. It can alter your attitude towards things as you may begin to believe and try to become what your zodiac says which may not be who you truely are.

spirituality
2

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.