Longevity logo

Introduction

who the hell am I?

By Kaylee NortonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

This is my first post here on Vocal so I thought I would take this opportunity to write a little about myself in case you have stumbled across this post or my profile and are curious about what you might read as I tend to write what I know... which is from my own experiences.

I am 44 years old, married for 24 years, no children but 2 fur babies, currently living in Ottawa Canada. Both my husband and I are in the military - I outrank him, hahaha! These are topics I typically don't write about, though every now and then, I will write about relationships - after all, we've been together for 28 years so we must be doing something right!

So what do I write about?

I have struggled with body image issues for most of my life. I am recovering from eating disorders and substance abuse - even though I'm over 2 years sober I have to remain diligent, especially with my new rank and position being so stressful. Prior to joining the military, I was a Personal Trainer and Holistic Nutritionist and I competed in Physique competitions - I traded one eating disorder for another. Now that I've been in the military for a while (8 years Oct 2020) I'm focusing on recovering from years of abusing my body and mind so I write a lot about body image, body positivity, lifestyle, and mental health as I find it therapeutic and hope I can help others.

I am now a plus-sized model so I have been starting to write a lot more about fashion as I believe clothing can really set a mood... or, better yet, an attitude! When I was younger, I wanted to be a fashion designer... obviously that never happened. However, lately that passion for fashion has been reignited! Quite likely, part of it has to do with the fact that my new office I can wear civilian clothing, not a uniform, so I can actually wear nice clothes and express myself through what I wear. Being plus size can be a little frustrating so I like to share where I shop and what I wear.

I am also vegan but don't worry - I'm not a "bible thumping" vegan. I really don't care if you eat meat if you're mindful about how commercial farming damages the environment and the animal cruelty involved in those institutions. I am also aware that not everyone can afford ethically sustainable meat and animal by-products - and that's okay! My husband isn't vegan and we can't afford it, either! However, his meat consumption has drastically reduced and I know a lot of other people are also trying to reduce meat consumption so that's what I write about. I try recipes and rate them as easy process and simple ingredients are a must! I feel that many people think poorly of a vegan lifestyle as it's seen as complicated and restrictive. Not to mention, a lot of the readily available vegan substitute "convenience foods" in the stores are, frankly, disgusting! I write about easy vegan recipes that are carnivore approved!

Health and wellness will always be a part of my life and I tend to write about all aspects of it; diet (not to be confused with diet culture), physical fitness, yoga, Reiki, meditation, mental health, body image, fashion... and maybe a little smut. ;)

If you've made it to the end, thank you! If you think my writings might interest you, I invite you to give me a follow!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.