Longevity logo

I put a large pile of toilet paper on the hand slowly down, the finger "smacking" a drop in the plate

In the winter of 2019, I took a week's annual leave. The weekend before had been so well rested that I had no excitement or plans for the upcoming holiday and almost wanted to call it a day and go to work.

By wu haoPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

In the winter of 2019, I took a week's annual leave. The weekend before had been so well rested that I had no excitement or plans for the upcoming holiday and almost wanted to call it a day and go to work.

Did not expect these days of vacation is really not "wasted"...

Today is the new kitchen knife

Career stage

In order to actively carry out the spirit of vacation, I took my time in the winter sun planting flowers, shopping, buying books, went to a favorite open-air bar for lunch... When I got home after playing in the afternoon, I suddenly felt that I had to do some housework, or it seemed too "family-caring".

When I turn around and see the raw chestnuts I bought in the morning when I was shopping for flowers, I can't help recalling the sweet scene of my mother cracking chestnuts in a pressure cooker when I was young. If tonight, my son BRAved the cold wind and came home from school, he could also eat his mother's own hot chestnuts, that scene ~ how wonderful!

Just do it.

Wash the chestnuts, pour a little oil into the pan, put the chestnuts in, cover the lid (no pressure valve) and slowly shake the pan, so that the chestnuts are evenly heated... After a few minutes, it seems that there is no movement in the pot. Do you need to adjust the operation? I suddenly remembered that when my mother was a child, it seemed that she wanted to open a hole in the chestnut, otherwise it might explode...

So, turn off the heat, cool down, and take the chestnuts out. I hesitated between using scissors or using a kitchen knife, feeling that it is difficult to cut, with a kitchen knife to cut a small mouth more convenient.

I pulled out the light kitchen knife I had traded in credit card points for last week. Here, right now, is its debut.

I put the flat side of the chestnut down, gently holding it in place with my left hand and slowly using my right hand, pushing the knife down slightly while gently pulling it back and forth. Soon, five or six chestnuts were opened by me. My mind can not help but drift "work to do its thing, must first sharpen its tool" "not the kui is a new kitchen knife" "double XX brand quality is not my deception" so cloud.

Suddenly, the knife of the right hand slipped from the round chestnut to the index finger of the left hand. I quickly recalled the power of the right hand, and the few previous hand cutting experience, think the left index finger will probably have a cut.

When I looked down, I felt my blood run cold -- something I'd never seen before: the tip of my finger was cut off.

Make out the heads and tails

Put it back on your finger

For a moment I was sure I wasn't dreaming, and then I was in a great panic -- a lot of blood! Stop the bleeding or call first? Get some gauze band-aids from the living room! But where is it? Keep the severed finger. Don't lose it. Ah! I knocked that finger off the floor!

Clutching my heart and gritting my teeth, I picked it up, identified the front, back and forth, and put it on my finger, where the blood was already everywhere. (The finger should be kept in a clean, dry, refrigerated environment. See Editor's note at the end of this article.) The thrill of the image added to my horror. I had to pull a large wad of toilet paper nearby, firmly on the index finger, pressure. But the blood soon seeped out again. One more blob! Finally, it looks like it's not bleeding anymore.

Holding my index finger tightly in my left hand, I gradually came to my senses, and then called my family member Lao Zhang with one hand: "Hey, I cut off a piece of my finger, it's a piece. You go home right now and take me to the hospital."

Then call Aunt Wang, Dad's nanny, and ask her to come and help. Then I started trying to clean up the mess with one hand. There was so much panic, blood was dripping down the road on the kitchen and living room floor, everywhere. Look at the watch already more than six o 'clock, my son about eight o 'clock home from school, in case not clean...

When Aunt Wang came to help, I was wiping the small pools of blood into a large, aunt startled. By the time Lao Zhang came back, we had already entered the mop-up stage. I take good medical insurance card, turn head thanked aunt, go out, get on the car one hand FASTEN seat BELT, TO THE SIDE HAS not REACTED TO THE OLD ZHANG TO say: "GO, go to the emergency room."

Fingers sewn to your stomach?

Let's just forget about it

The hospital was not far, and the emergency room was empty that day. I met a slick young doctor, and by the time Lao Zhang parked my car, I'd finished registering and telling the doctor what was going on.

The doctor took me to the disposal room and pulled out a dish I had seen in my middle school biological dissection experiments. I put the hand wrapped in a large pile of toilet paper slowly down, the finger "smacking" a drop in the plate. At that moment, Lao Zhang realized that I really had lost a piece of my finger. I finally managed to get a good look -- well, there was still bone in it.

Anesthetic, wound cleaning, stitches. Four stitches in a bare nail. The doctor said, "Your wound is on the verge of needing a severed limb reattached. If you replant, you have to go to Jishuitan Hospital. If the suture is left to heal, the broken part will probably not live, but will regenerate. You can also do abdominal flap surgery later, where you make an opening in the abdomen and sew your fingers into it."

I pictured the scene, but I don't think so. I'll just sew it on. So I said to the doctor, "I know, it's about as good as I thought, or I'll go straight to the pool. I'll take care of it and see if it can live."

They say my fingers are tied to my heart, but luckily, I didn't feel much pain the whole time. It was not yet eight o 'clock, and I calculated that there was still time to cook noodles when I got home. By the time my son got home, it was peace and quiet, except that I had a huge lump of gauze on my hands.

One of the few photos taken after the injury by the author

The necrotic part

It's like a protective shell.

Four days later, the first dressing change. The severed part of the finger still has a little bit of blood on it, and the doctor says there may be hope that it will survive, to see if the blood supply can save it.

You are what you eat? No. The author provides the picture

Unfortunately, the second time the dressing was changed, the severed finger had turned completely black. The next step is regeneration, though I don't know what that process is.

The rest of my annual leave turned into sick leave, and I stayed home. Although there is no sharp pain, but it is still very uncomfortable, plus that pile of super existential gauze, the night is really not good sleep, can only catch up on sleep during the day.

The schedule for that vacation was binge-watching, catching up on sleep, binge-watching, catching up on sleep.

After a month, the wound began to itch, and I thought maybe it was new tissue growing. The necrotic part seems to have become a "protective shell". What could be underneath?

After three months, I noticed that the "protective shell" was starting to come off, and what looked like new fingers with skin under the shell.

Eventually, after six months of regeneration, I actually lost a fifth of my left index finger tip to my right hand, deck and finger width.

More than two years later, there is still a tingling discomfort when touched, but other than that and appearance, there is nothing unusual about it.

Finally, sigh their vacation out of the disaster, and the human body self repair magic.

Personal experience sharing does not constitute medical advice and cannot replace the doctor's individualized judgment on a specific patient. Please go to a regular hospital if you need to see a doctor.

Another person had a similar experience. Please click here for her story and doctor's comments.

Fruit shell patients have shared with you the experience of being hurt by common things in life, by chopsticks pillow poke thumb tendon, was off the sweep handle scratch tendon, fingers by the door clamped off, by hot water scald, cooking gas leakage body burns and so on, can be seen everywhere in life there are safety risks worth paying attention to.

Have you ever been hurt by something common in your life? Are there any noteworthy ways to avoid injury? Please click here to share with us

breakupsdiet
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.