Longevity logo

I Am Always Tired

Why are there so many types of tired?

By TheAdventuresOfRooPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was looking for a new blog to write, and whilst talking to my mum about it, I couldn’t stop yawning. So here it is, a blog about being tired, why, and what sort of tired.

There are many types of tired, and I probably suffer from at least two of them every day. But none of these other tireds really have names. I thought about creating names for different ways of being tired but I am not creative enough, so I just decided to call them types. We say, "tired, shattered, cream crackered" etc but all that tells us is the person probably needs to go to sleep, which isn’t always the case. The thing is, most of the time that I’m tired, I wouldn’t be able to sleep. I am yawning for many reasons.

Tired Type Number 1: Being Sleepy

The first sort of tired is the obvious: being tired and needing to sleep. It is not because you have done something to make you tired, but the tired at the end of the day right before you go to bed. The only way to solve this tired type is to sleep.

Tired Type Number 2: Physically Sleepy

This is the same feeling as sleepy tired, but it has a reason. This the type of tired you feel after you walk home from work or get in from the gym, and all you need to do is sleep. Although this can be solved by relaxing, napping or having a bath.

Tired Type Number 3: Mentally Sleepy

Again, this type of sleepy means you will actually need to sleep. Sometimes a work day is too much for you and your brain can’t keep awake so sleep is probably the best thing for you. It is possible to be mentally sleepy but not be able to sleep, which happens to me all the time. That’s when I end up watching true crime crap dramas at 4 AM.

Tired Type Number 4: Poorly Sleepy

Sometimes when you are poorly, you feel sleepy, but usually you sleep to recover. But you can also do this just by laying in bed.

Tired Type Number 5: Mentally Ill Sleepy

So this is where the types of tired become less normal, and most people don’t feel these daily. Mental illness can make you tired when you are not, which you will know about if you have read my other blogs. You could have been up all night and slept 10 hours but you will just yawn, all the time, for no reason. Without medication, this can be a hard sleepy to stop, but even with meds I still suffer from this on a daily basis. It’s hard to relax your brain when it’s constantly stressing itself with anxiety!

Tired Type Number 6: Sleepy Because You Are Sleepy

A lot of the time I am tired because I haven’t done anything, because I was tired. It’s a vicious circle that I can’t seem to find a way to get out of. The obvious way to get out of this is to force yourself to do something, even if you are tired. Then you will become tired type 1, 2, or 3 and find it easier to sleep.

There will be many other types of tired, probably subtypes within these types. From reading other people’s blogs on this subject, it’s nice to know I’m not the only person who says they are tired when they aren’t generically tired. Everything is harder to do if you haven’t had a good night's sleep. There are many studies into the length of life being linked to sleep, but if any of them are true I will probably die by 28.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

TheAdventuresOfRoo

I am a freelance writer and content creator from Bradford. I'm also an animal lover and sports fanatic.

Twitter - @ree_bec_kahh_

Instagram - theadventuresofroo_

Twitch - TheAdventuresOfRoo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.