Longevity logo

How to Lose Weight

By Getting a Good Night's Sleep

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

It is essential to losing weight slowly, not quickly. To lose weight too fast can signal impending diabetes, often called pre-diabetes, or having a blood sugar of 100-120. Most normal humans have blood sugars from 70-90, give or take a threshold. For diabetics, it is recommended for them to maintain a non-diabetic average. Eating breakfast and eating, in general, is conducive to weight loss. Being overweight causes many problems from blood sugar to aesthetics. Oatmeal can help weight loss because it isn’t as refined as, say, Kellogg’s Cornflakes. I’m trying to cut cereal from my diet right now because I need to get back to at least 110 lbs. I’m 119.

Losing weight comes from eating anything whole, not packaged foods. As in, dinner should be meat, vegetables, and a carbohydrate such as rice, and lunch can be an egg and crackers. Walking is exercise, so walking a good mile daily would help with strategic weight-loss. Eating necessitates feeling full so that you do not nibble or nosh on food that doesn’t make you feel like you are full. I also use MyFitness Pal to keep track of how much I am eating daily. MyFitness Pal is a great resource since now I know for sure how many calories I’m getting.

Getting enough sleep can help you lose weight, as it means that sleeping can slow your metabolism. Sleep is necessary because it rebuilds your energy stores for the next day. Sleep recharges your batteries by letting you dream out your problems until you wake up, ready to tackle the next day. Sleep deprivation can lead to bad judgment. Sleeping eight hours per night can help you lose weight because not sleeping well can make it hard to lose weight, which is what I think is going on with me. This is why I’m trying to nail good blood sugar readings at night since my quality of sleep depends on my glucose.

The more you are awake, the more you consume extra calories. I had a massive 10 PM low last night, and this just proves my theory that I was having an undocumented low before midnight, before my high blood sugar after midnight. A good night’s sleep gives you energy. I feel fine today because, despite the interruptions, I did get enough sleep as usual. I’m both trying to sleep through the night, maintain my glucose levels, and lose weight at the same time. This is a tall order. I don’t think I slept through the night since I was six months old. When I started Geodon, I was attempting to lose weight at the gym, although what I didn’t have was a calcium supplement.

I need calcium as part of having low calcium. That is hereditary. I forgot to supplement, and this is why I fractured my tibia although my kneecap dislocation was from an old injury that occasionally comes back to haunt me. I have taken two years to recover from said injury. Losing weight happens with exercise factored into your caloric intake. If you exercise more than you eat, you lose weight. I’m trying to walk more as, with my injury, this is all I get to do, walking. I can’t do anything athletic still. I’m busy writing every chance I get and making money with writing copy. I found myself a job I get to start at my own pace that’s an insurance sales agent thing. I found the undocumented low blood sugar last night. I treated it, and went back to sleep, but woke up at midnight. I think I might nail a good night’s sleep really soon since that is a way to lose weight—is through getting enough sleep.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.