Longevity logo

How To Blend Teas

Often, herbal concoctions for health and wellness taste bland to the palate. Remedy that by learning how to blend teas.

By Jillian SprucePublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Originally when my first tea blends came into creation, I was wild about making teas that were not only tasty but provide a healthy beverage for people. So many times, herbal concoctions for health and wellness just tasted bland and brittle to my palate. Today, I am still very passionate about this aspect of blending, but have expanded my repertoire. When you visit any local tea shop or mega store like Teavana, you will find an expansive selection of green, white and black tea varieties, as well as herbals (often referred to as tisanes).

My process for blending teas and scents is quite simple for the most part. Once a week, and sometimes daily, I sit down and do a meditation to get different ideas. This way my mind is clear and focused and I am "in the now" of what I am doing. Fabulous ideas come to me in my sleep as well.

After meditation, I sit down with all of the herbs and teas in my studio and begin choosing them on instinct. I rarely pair tastes together on purpose, but rather let Spirit guide me to the perfect combination. I have coined a term in my classes for this type of blending. I call it "blind blending" where I simply close my eyes and choose at will. This is one of the primary ways tea is blended by myself and my family.

As the teas and herbs are added, I smell each one and give thanks to the plant for being part of the blend. I also inhale the scent of each ingredient very deeply to get a sense of the essence or personality of each botanical. My sense of this part of the process is what one might call dry aromatherapy. Different herbs will evoke powerful feelings and memories and propel me towards the next ingredient to be added. When the blend is complete, I take a moment to give thanks to Spirit for guiding me. Then the blend is mixed thoroughly and I record my notes, thoughts and recipe in my tea blending book.

Taste Testing

We then begin taste testing which is my son's favorite part. My son is also learning to blend teas and scents. At the ripe age of 13, he is proving to be quite a creative genius in the process. He lends his own unique style and insight and is a perfect addition to our growing company. We also make custom blends and scents, as well.

There are many wonderful companies that provide teas in the world. We like to think we do things differently through our creative process. This process and our commitment to outstanding customer service is what makes our blends stand out. Choosing tea and scent are both deeply personal choices for people. Tea drinkers rely on various teas to cure an even larger variety of ailments and issues; including just the comfort a cup of tea can bring.

how toorganicmeditationdiet
Like

About the Creator

Jillian Spruce

Flower power! A botanist who believes herbology practices can benefit the mind, body and soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.