Longevity logo

Good deeds challenge

We need it more than ever nowadays

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
I do not own the image above, no copyright intended

There's a quote from the first Captain America movie where Steve Rogers says to Bucky about wanting to join the War; "Bucky, come on! There are men laying down their lives. I got no right to do any less than them. That's what you don't understand". Now granted I haven't done anything that drastic, but the last portion specifically of ".. I got no right to do any less.." has always resonated with me. I was never the most physically or mentally gifted. I wasn't born into a super wealthy family. However, life had privileged me with very good health, two parents who were incredibly hard workers, and the ability to live my life on my terms. Not very many people can say they have those gifts. And who am I to abuse those gifts through negligence, selfishness, and pure laziness. I've done as much charity work as I can, I'm a registered organ donor for when it's my time, I've donated money to various charities over the years. Anything and everything I can do to spread some positivity and warmth to the world. However specifically for this article I'll be talking about blood donations, and more specifically my years donating blood. As well as why you should donate blood too, if you can.

Sobering Statistics

Every two seconds someone in the United States alone needs blood. Blood platelets only have a shelf life of 5 days. Hospital patients need about 44,000 blood donations daily, that's a large number to say the least. Lastly 1/83 births will require blood. However with all these saddening facts, the average person can help.

Why I specifically started donating blood

As stated in my opening paragraph I'm eternally grateful for the gifts I was given. And even with my health concerns that are lingering within my family's DNA, they're manageable and I'll be okay. Hyper tension on my mother's side for example. All I need to do is get plenty of exercise, eat well, and limit my stress. Diabetes on my father's side, same deal with proper diet and exercise. However those who have blood disorders don't have the luxury of being able to make a statement like that. With our current technology we cannot manufacture artificial blood, so all blood replacement has to come from the generosity of others. So if I do nothing, I see myself as guilty when that person loses there life. Who am I not to step up and help? That's why I started donating blood.

Why everyone who can donate, should donate blood. Especially nowadays

One statistic I didn't mention above is, less than 10% of us that are eligible and able to donate blood actually do. That's very saddening, we can do better and we should do better. Donating blood is very easy, to me, and not all that time consuming. After you're registered the actual donation process takes less than an hour. And with just one pint of blood, which is one donation. You could potentially save up to 3 lives. 1 hour to save 3 lives, sounds like an amazing trade to me. Now that we're still dealing with covid, and countless blood drives being shut down across the country those of us who can need to step up and donate. Just because we have covid, doesn't mean car accidents suddenly stopped. It doesn't mean Leukemia doesn't exist. So on and so forth. Again, 2 seconds. That's how often someone needs blood.

Lastly, above all else, you never know if you'll need blood. So start donating now, inspire as many people as you can to donate blood and help those who are afraid overcome their fears of donating blood. Because you'll just never know when it's your turn to receive. And there's no more helpless feeling than praying for the generosity of others to possibly save your life.

So please, 2020 was hard enough as is. Let's start off 2021 right by doing a good deed for someone we'll potentially never meet. Make an appointment with your local blood bank, then try to bring as many friends and family member's as possible. Let's try to spread the word of blood donations and how we can help. Then let's not stop once we've gotten started, make it a habit to donate as often as you can so we can keep saving lives.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

humanity
6

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.