Longevity logo

Going Gray: My Journey of Self-Acceptance

By Karen Lopez

By HealPointPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

I used to hate my dark gray hair, but now I love it. Here’s how I learned to embrace it as a part of me.

I was 25 when I found my first gray hair. It was a shock, to say the least. I had always had dark brown hair, and I loved it. It was part of my identity, my style, my personality. I felt like it suited me well.

But there it was, a single silver strand among the rest, mocking me with its presence. I quickly plucked it out, hoping it was a fluke. But soon enough, more gray hairs appeared, and they multiplied faster than I could get rid of them.

I felt like I was too young to go gray. I felt like it made me look old, dull, and unattractive. I felt like it didn’t match who I was inside. I felt like I had to hide it, to cover it up, to pretend it wasn’t there.

So I started dyeing my hair. At first, I tried to match my natural color, but that was too hard to maintain. The roots would show up in a matter of weeks, and I hated how they looked. So I decided to go for a different color, something more fun and adventurous. I tried blonde, red, purple, even pink. I liked how they made me feel different, but they also made me feel fake.

I realized that dyeing my hair was not a solution, but a problem. It was damaging my hair, my scalp, and my wallet. It was also damaging my self-esteem, my confidence, and my authenticity. It was making me feel like I had something to hide, something to be ashamed of, something to fix.

I decided to stop dyeing my hair and let it go gray naturally. It was not an easy decision, and it was not an easy process. It took months for the dye to fade away and reveal the true color of my hair. It looked awkward and messy for a while, and I felt insecure and self-conscious about it.

But as time went by, something amazing happened. I started to see the beauty in my dark gray hair. I started to appreciate how it contrasted with my skin tone and eye color. I started to notice how it sparkled in the sunlight and glowed in the moonlight. I started to love how it made me look unique and distinctive.

I also started to feel different about myself. I started to feel more comfortable in my own skin, more confident in my own voice, more proud of my own story. I started to feel like going gray was not a sign of aging, but a sign of living. It was a sign of wisdom, maturity, and experience. It was a sign of growth, change, and transformation.

I realized that going gray was not a problem, but a gift. It was a gift that allowed me to embrace myself as I am, without any filters or masks. It was a gift that allowed me to express myself as I want, without any limits or expectations. It was a gift that allowed me to celebrate myself as I deserve, without any doubts or regrets.

Now I rock my dark gray hair with confidence and style. I choose a flattering haircut that suits my face shape and personality. I add some highlights or lowlights to create some dimension and contrast. I use the right products to keep my hair healthy and shiny. I accessorize with some hats, scarves, or earrings to spice up my look.

But most importantly, I smile with joy and gratitude every time I look in the mirror. Because I know that my dark gray hair is not just a part of me, but a part of who I am.

What about you? Do you have dark gray hair? How do you feel about it? How do you style it? Let me know in the comments below! I would love to hear from you! 😊

bodybeautyaging
Like

About the Creator

HealPoint

Get ready for an explosion of transformative insights and skyrocket your well-being journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.