Longevity logo

Five Effective Ways to Stop Your Stomach Growling When Intermittently Fasting

It’s time to put an end to the annoying grumbling

By Ange DimPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Five Effective Ways to Stop Your Stomach Growling When Intermittently Fasting
Photo by Bruno Gomiero on Unsplash

It’s perfectly normal for your stomach to growl during the fasting period.

The longer you fast, the more inclined your stomach will make some persistent music.

When you fast for regular periods, this will become easier to ignore.

Stomach growling is your body's way of telling you that it would like you to eat (I just thought I’d remind you).

You can ignore this, and there are no health implications if you do not succumb to the request of your stomach.

It builds a lot of self-discipline that filters through other parts of your life.

As my intermittent fasting journey has progressed, I’ve armed myself with many strategies to keep the noisy distraction from bothering me and help me deal with the hunger that’s brewing.

The trick is to stop eating until you reach your target fasting hour.

But, of course, that’s always the goal, and during the first initial stages, this might be very challenging.

But don’t worry, as your body gets used to it, you will now be the boss over hunger.

Keep your health and longevity goals ahead of any little grumbling you might feel.

Here are five ways to stop your stomach growling within your fasting window

One: Drink black coffee, herbal teas and green tea

Caffeine helps to curb hunger straight away.

It’s also great for increasing your energy levels and providing you with that productivity boost you might need during certain parts of the day.

Herbal teas are also great because they are caffeine-free and provide a relaxing phase to your strategy.

Teas are great when you feel like unwinding in the afternoons or evenings.

You don’t want to drink a cup of coffee a couple of hours before bed, as it may prevent you from sleeping well.

If you find that caffeine doesn’t upset your sleep, go ahead and drink it as you wish.

You can opt for peppermint, chamomile or a detox tea. It helps to cleanse the liver and settle the rumbling stomach.

Two: Drink a lot of water during the day

This is a great way to begin hydrating your body again.

I like to place a wedge of lemon or lime in my water with some ice.

That’s very refreshing on a summers day.

Opt for a slice of ginger, lime, or lemon in tea during winter.

I recommend drinking a couple of glasses of hot water with lemon and ginger on an empty stomach.

It helps with digestion and constipation symptoms that you might get when fasting.

Either way, you are spicing your water up with some flavour that won’t break your fast.

This is great for detoxifying the liver.

Aim to drink one glass of water per hour. You may be taking several trips to the bathroom, but it’s completely worth it!

Three: If you find food tempting, stay away from it when in the fasting period

It’s essential to keep yourself occupied during the fasting period.

The more inclined you are to be around food, the more tempting it will be.

Why allow yourself to be led into the doorway of food temptation?

I still like to make my family dinner, as I get the experience of making a meal and preparing mine for when I break my fast the next day.

It satisfies my need for cooking something wholesome and the knowledge that I’m preparing something for myself & the people I love.

If you keep yourself occupied well, you will not think about eating or become tempted.

Remember that this is entirely normal during the first few fasts.

It will become a lot easier as you keep practising the art of self-control.

Four: Get to sleep early

Sometimes, sleeping it off can give us an easy way out of the grumbling.

In the early days of my fasting, I was pretty tired, and this is because of alterations happening within my body.

We are transitioning from burning sugar to ketones.

It can leave us feeling sluggish, moody and exhausted.

I found that going to bed a bit earlier helped me a lot.

I allowed this to happen for as long as I needed it.

Before long, my energy levels increased, and I did more during my fasting timeframe.

It’s incredible how our bodies run so well when we allow them to heal and regenerate.

If you have trouble sleeping, why not try a magnesium supplement? This always guarantees I will fall asleep in no time.

Five: Eating enough calories when in the feeding window.

It's essential to eat wholesome food when you eat any meals.

That means getting enough protein, vegetables and a small number of carbs.

Your intake will depend on your activity levels, but you must ensure you get enough calories throughout the day.

It will help transition those energy sources well into your fasting period, delaying the onset of hunger.

Again, I find this tactic works well.

Key take away

I have fasted for several years now.

My body has become accustomed to the neverending waves of fasting.

There are some occasions in which I do not fast, but I have found that my digestion becomes very inflamed.

You might find the same is true for you.

You don’t feel at your best when you eat something during fasting.

I urge you to try a few things for yourself and see how your body and mind feel. For example, notice the brain fog, lack of concentration or urgency for naps.

These will all impact your quality of life; therefore, if you use fasting to help you get through them, you will find it a lot easier, and eventually, the motions will become part of your everyday life.

Good luck on your journey. It’s well worth those minor hunger pains for all the massive gains you will receive from fasting.

If you would like to express gratitude with coffee, send the love via this link.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Ange Dim

My mission is to help people become the best version of themselves through nutrition, exercise and mindset. Get your dose of coaching every week here: https://anged.substack.com/subscribe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.