Longevity logo

Exercise Challenge (Part 5)

Days 18-21

By Michelle FrankPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image found on Google

This week I decided to switch things up a bit with my exercise routine. I am beginning to get bored with doing the same exercises, so I tried doing a few things I am not supposed to do. Let me explain what I mean by that...

At 13-years-old, I stopped growing. However, a bone in my left leg continued to grow for another year, causing me great pain and problems. This condition is called Osgood-Schlatter disease, and I was told there is really nothing that can be done for it. I could have surgery to have the bone shaved down, but that would just cause more problems in the long run. To manage this condition, I was told not to run, climb a lot of stairs or squat. Basically, don't do anything that would put a lot of strain on this knee. I am 40-years-old now, my legs are a LOT bigger than they were at that time in my life so...

I think I am going to try something different for exercise today. I am going to try to see how many times I can climb up and down the stairs. For those that don't know my history, I am not supposed to climb too many stairs due to the overgrown bone in my left knee. However, I want to strengthen my knee. Right now, this is the only way I can think to do it.

Day 18 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today I challenged myself to climb up and down the stairs. I did four flights. Here are a couple short videos of it...

Even after doing four flights four of stairs, I only have 128 steps. So, I think I will pace around the house a bit and bring that number up. Once I am done, I will update my daily challenge for today to reflect the steps.

Once I was done for the day, I had a total of 1,152 steps. Not many, but about my usual average.

After climbing the stairs four times, I expected that my knee would be throbbing. I was pleasantly surprised when it wasn't! So, the next day I did...

Day 19 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

My bay window

Today I walked in place for three minutes giving me a total of 896 steps. I also did 10 pushups against this windowsill and 10 against my kitchen wall. I also did 10 squats and stretched out my legs. I am not feeling the greatest today, so it was a light workout.

My sinuses were acting up, so was my stomach, but I still made myself work out. On the days that I don't feel well, I still want to get a light workout in that way I don't get lax and give up on my challenge. Which leads to...

Day 20 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Since today is Sunday, and the weather sucks, I am taking the day off completely to rest. I will be back to the workouts tomorrow.

Here in Maine, we got hit with a bad snow storm that made it almost impossible for people to go anywhere. I ended up sleeping most of the day and half of the next day. I guess I was a bit tired!

Day 21 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today I danced while making dinner. It was a total of 10 minutes of dancing, 1,028 steps while dancing. No pictures because I was cooking.

So, as you can see, these last four days, instead of just dancing, stretching and working out at the YMCA, I decided to switch it up. I'm glad I did! I learned that I can do a few squats and a few flights of stairs without too many problems. I will be careful of how often I do these so that I don't hurt myself, but now I know I can do it! Never be afraid to try something new, something you never thought you could do! You might be pleasantly surprised, just as I was!

From here on out, instead of posting four days at a time, I am going to post a full week at a time, that way there are not quite so many stories on here! Until next time, have a great week! And remember, don't be sedentary! Get up and move! Blessings to you and yours!

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Frank

I'm a mom of 6, grandma to 2 and a wife of 16 yrs and counting. I have been to hell and back several times and have survived it each time thanks in large part to my husband. When I write, I do so from the heart and from personal experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.