Longevity logo

Entrepreneur, Fitness Guru, and an Inspiration: Briana K. Shaffer

Why I Was Able to Push Through Thanks to Her!

By G MPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Before I begin telling you about one of my absolute favorite role models, I would like to tell you a bit about myself to give you some context on why Briana is such a huge inspiration to me. I am 22 years old now, and to be straightforward with you, I am the biggest/heaviest I have ever been. Once I graduated from high school, my "freshman 15" was more of a "freshman 40." In the beginning, I think it just started off as happy weight. I began my journey with college, got busy, wasn't watching what I was eating, nor making an effort to workout. During my second year in college, I had some personal stuff happen to me and I went through a really rough patch. The only "coping" I did was through eating, and obviously that has led me to where I am now.

BUT ANYWAYS, enough of the negative talk! I came across Briana's page on Instagram about a year ago and I was able to relate to her right off the bat! I think part of it was that she too went through a rough patch and used food as outlet just like I did. Briana lost her best friend in a car accident and, of course, her life was turned upside down. She has shared a lot about this time in her life, and I couldn't be more grateful about how open she is about her struggles and how difficult it was to start her fitness journey up again. Aside from being open about her fitness journey, she is also completely transparent about her mental health. I have struggled with depression for quite some time, but since coming across her page and hearing about her similar struggles, I have learned to become more accepting of what I used to consider my flaws or faults. I am now able to find the motivation to push forward, while also accepting that sometimes it's okay to feel the way I do.

Though I am still at my heaviest, I have now lost 26 pounds thanks to one of Briana's fitness and meal guides. I honestly have never felt better about myself, and I owe a huge part of that to her! So Briana, if you're reading this, thank you! Thank you for getting me out of, what seemed to me at the time, a never-ending rough patch—and thank you for inspiring me to want better for myself. You are the reason I started my fitness journey and I will forever be grateful to you for that.

I know you're probably wondering about what makes her so unique or what separates her from all the other fitness gurus on Instagram. Unlike others, Briana does not promote unrealistic diets, fake products (no tummy teas or magic pills), or excessive hours of cardio. Instead, through her programs, she promotes a balanced and healthy lifestyle that consequently will help you lose weight. She doesn't focus on losing weight though, and that is what I love. She's all about self-love and confidence—and aside from weight loss, that is exactly what I have gotten from her guides.

Briana is really on her way up and I hope she realizes the potential that her supporters (especially ME!) see in her. Aside from having fitness and meal guides, she also has a clothing company that offers the comfiest and most affordable gym clothes! She is also in the process of creating a swim collection which is set to launch before summer!

If you are going through a rough patch, struggling with self-love and confidence, or just in need of some cute workout clothes, I highly recommend you give her follow. I promise you won't be disappointed!

Make sure to check out her website and keep an eye out for her $10 sales on ALL guides!

You can also follow her journey on Instagram and YouTube!

  • Personal IG: brianakfitness
  • Apparel IG: brianakcollection
  • Swim Collection IG: brianakswim
  • YouTube: Briana Shaffer
fitness
Like

About the Creator

G M

Just a young woman trying to put her thoughts out into the universe💫 Your support is greatly appreciated!❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.