Longevity logo

Chronic UTI's

How I Stopped Them for Good!

By G MPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Frequent trips to the restroom, feeling like you have to "go" even though you just went, small little drops, burning pain, chills... I know this feeling all too well along with many other women today. Urinary tract infections, as many women have experienced, make it nearly impossible to go about our daily lives. It sucks having to go somewhere whether it's work, school, an event, etc. I have suffered from UTI's since I was the age of about 5, which is why I consider mine chronic. I cannot tell you how many times I've gotten asked at the doctor's "how do you wipe?" or "are you wiping back to front?" This question made sense when I was a child but it is embarrassing even having to answer that now. Like Ma’am/sir, "I KNOW HOW TO WIPE MY ASS!" Aside from having to go to the doctor's, I have gotten sick of all the antibiotics and that disgusting "burnt" aftertaste. Antibiotics or not, it always comes back anyway. So, I am here to tell you how I have managed to remain "UTI free" for two years now with three simple things! I know, I know, it doesn't seem like much but considering how many times a year I used to get it, this is a MIRACLE! Keep reading to hear about how I achieved this without ANTIBIOTICS!

1. Water, Agua, H2O

DUH! Okay, I know this is obvious, but I don't just mean have a glass of water and it'll go away. I have made it a habit to carry a gallon of water with me at all times and I try to drink it all throughout the day. Yes, I still make frequent restroom visits, but I’m not just peeing little drops anymore, so that’s a huge plus! I've learned that the more you pee, the more bacteria is being flushed out, which is why drinking water throughout the day is really helpful.

2. Cranberry Pills

Cranberry pills have been known to flush out bacteria as they work like a probiotic. I take these as a daily supplement every morning, with water of course, and I like to think that it has really made a difference. This is a great substitute for cranberry juice which I hate because of its bitter taste. If you prefer cranberry juice/tea, then go for it, but if you hate it like I do, these will do wonders for you! Not to mention, they taste amazing!

3. Probiotics

So obviously when you have a UTI, you've most likely got a lot of bacteria up in there. To be more specific, you've got a lot of BAD bacteria. This is where the probiotics come in. They introduce a lot of the GOOD bacteria to help fight off the infection you have. I also take these as a daily supplement with water along with the cranberry tablets. If your infection is more than what I'd consider mild and your doctor recommends/insists that you take antibiotics, I suggest still taking the probiotics a few hours after taking the anti-b to help prevent a yeast infection.

Believe it or not, this is all I have done that has kept me from getting a UTI for over two years now! I have increased my water intake and began taking both cranberry pills and probiotics as daily supplements. Aside from that, I'd like to mention that there are a few things that go a long way like peeing after sex, being as clean as possible during sex and during your menstrual period, wipe correctly (LOL), wearing underwear (I know many women who don't!), and just practicing overall good vaginal hygiene. Anyways, I hope this helps you as much as it has helped me and makes your life a bit easier!

Side Note: I am not a doctor nor have I done any kind of studies that prove these steps help UTI's. These tips are based solely off of my own experience and what I believe has helped me! If you believe your infection is severe, please go to your doctor.

Also, if you're interested, make sure to check out my other articles!

Say Bye to Acne With Curology

Mario Badescu Skincare

Wikipedia Is Actually Reliable!

Women in Today’s Society

Body Inclusivity

Love Languages

First Time Trying Anal

Best Sex Ever!

How to Better Your Sex Life!

Weed for Dementia?

health
Like

About the Creator

G M

Just a young woman trying to put her thoughts out into the universe💫 Your support is greatly appreciated!❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.